We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outlander 7 day tour with Ian was Awesome!”

Inverness Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Discover the city of Inverness. Step back in time to understand the dynamic history and rich culture hidden our streets. Come on a journey and delve into our unique folklore, prophecies, curses and tales. Understand the stories behind Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series. Discover the true hidden stories of rebellions, the Jacobites, the Clans and our traditions. Book on our website.
Reviewed July 5, 2016

Cannot say enough superlatives to describe our guide Ian on our 7 day Outlander Immersion Tour. He picked us up in Glasgow along with 4 others. The six of us had never met before but we quickly bonded and really enjoyed each other. Ian was witty, fun, helpful, extremely informative and insightful. We saw a lot, learned a lot, and laughed a lot.
From Glasgow we traveled to Inverness staying in a small town called Aberfeldy which was charming. It was fun to see so many of the film locations of the TV series or inspirations to Diana Gabaldon, author of the book. Ian also showed us other historical places and current places of interest. After 3 nights in Inverness we continued on to Edinburgh for 2 nights.
We came to know Scotland and especially the Highlands very well. I credit Ian for making this tour one of the best I have ever taken. Would highly recommend Inverness Tours and Ian Deveney.

2  Thank Pr0misekeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh A, Owner at Inverness Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2016

It was a joy to have this great review.
It is a great tour and all of our great guides just love showing the best of the sights to our lovely guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (680)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"george munro"
in 109 reviews
"outlander tour"
in 119 reviews
"culloden battlefield"
in 79 reviews
"scottish history"
in 59 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 47 reviews
"isle of skye"
in 96 reviews
"castle leod"
in 16 reviews
"beauly priory"
in 21 reviews
"loch ness"
in 121 reviews
"tv series"
in 15 reviews
"outlander fan"
in 20 reviews
"took pictures"
in 9 reviews
"glen ord"
in 18 reviews
"bronze age"
in 7 reviews
"standing stones"
in 17 reviews
"private tour"
in 25 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 17 reviews
Filter

207 - 211 of 680 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2016

We just returned from a 12-day trip to Scotland, where we spent 7 days with Laura Moon of Inverness Tours. Laura picked us up in St. Andrews and we headed up to Inverness via Blair Castle and the Highland Folk Museum. We spent three nights in Inverness and then headed to the Isle of Skye for three nights. Finally, Laura drove us to Edinburgh. Laura was extremely responsive and well organized. She kept us laughing and engaged with interesting stories and theories. She met all of our needs--a husband who wanted to golf, a wife who wanted to visit Outlander sites, a daughter who was interested in Harry Potter, and a son who hates museums. She wasn't afraid to make suggestions about the itinerary where needed. Ultimately, we had such a relaxing tour without having to worry about driving on single lane roads or other logistics. She was always cheerful and a consummate professional.

2  Thank sushideluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh A, Owner at Inverness Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2016

We are delighted it all went so well and you are all happy with the tour.
Thank you for your excellent review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2016

We recently spent the day with Laura Moon, touring the highlands around Inverness (Culloden Moor, Clava Cairns, Loch Ness, Urquhart Castle...). What a fantastic day we had. I have had the good fortune to tour with many knowledgable "educators", and Laura was one of them. Laura was not only informative, she was also great company - we could not have asked for anything more! She was also completely flexible, very quickly adjusting the day to suit the interests that we expressed. Thank you Laura for making our visit so special!

1  Thank LGarfinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh A, Owner at Inverness Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to let us know you had such a great time.
Hope to see you again really soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2016

This tour deserves them all...every positive adjective. We did the ten hour Applecross tour. It was wonderful and Dave could not have been better. We talked about everything from history to the Rowan tree, mythology to kilts and ley lines. and stones of power. I wish I could replay it all because there was so much I'd like to be able to soak it all in again. Dave, you are the best. He also understood our desire to take photographs and made frequent stops. Overall it was just wonderful and real highlight.

Thank OrionNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh A, Owner at Inverness Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2016

Tremendous! Thank you so much.
We really do hope you can come back and tour with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2016

Meeting outside our cruise ship, we had a most enjoyable day with Laura as we visited Clava Cairns (where we met her husband Ian guiding his own small group), Culloden Battlefield, Inverness for lunch, Loch Ness, and Beauly Priory. She pointed out connections to the Outlander books, but the visit was equally enjoyable to those of us not familiar with the series. The scenery itself was beautiful and learning a lot of Scottish history made it all more interesting.

Thank bglhvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh A, Owner at Inverness Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your great tour.
It is always lovely to meet folks off the ships and a pleasure to pack as much in for you as we can on your short visit to the Highlands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Inverness Day Tours also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Inverness Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing