We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate but nothing special”
Review of Park Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Park Guest House
Ranked #68 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Adequate but nothing special”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This B&B was a last minute booking for me because the highly rated B&B I had booked for my trip could find no record of my booking. That there were last minute vacancies at a Highlands B&B at the last minute in the high season was my first clue that the place wasn't great but as I was travelling the next day, I couldn't afford to be fussy.

The room was clean and adequate however it was very dated and very small.

Breakfast was a basic fry up; the greasiest fry up I've ever eaten. The mushrooms were inedible as they'd merely soaked up a pan full of oil rather than sweated down in anything.

The owners were friendly but I was shocked to see Hendry ask a patron to pay for their stay during breakfast - the patron actually got up from his breakfast to do so - and he asked me to pay for my stay the night before I was due to check out. I declined and oferred to pay the next morning.

Lastly, there was a lot of noise from the lived in section of the B&B with music blaring early in the mornings and the TV at top volume at any other time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    58
    20
    18
    2
See reviews for
46
66
26
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spain
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed a night in this B&B and it was very nice.
The room was big and clean. But the best thing of that B&B was the hospitality of the owners.
A very friendly couple who made us feeling as if we were at home.
The breakfast was quite well and we have the enough time to take it easy and feel relax with the clasical music sounding in the dining room.
I recommend it a lot!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliceC_Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Park Guest House has a good location. However, I had a pathetic stay primarily due to the cold attitude of the owners. We were travelling with an infant daughter and the owners were a little hesitant even to allow us to use the microwave to boil water for her.
The rooms are very basic and the breakfast even more basic. It seemed that the old man was waiting for us to finish our breakfast.
Pathetic is the only word ans a flip side to Scottish hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rohitprax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morth east scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Charming and courteous host and a beautiful house. Rooms elegant, clean and a delight to stay in.
Breakfast in the dining room was a pleasure.
Highly recommend this establishnment.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reedllichtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Very nice, old Victorian house (from 1875) run by a very friendly couple. Great choice of breakfast and clean rooms. Less than 10min walk to the city centre. Definitively recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NWauWau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Owners were so friendly, courteous, and helpful. Owner recommended several fine restaurants and even made us dinner reservations since we were from the USA on a very busy itinerary. Breakfast was wonderful and the dining room is elegant.
With 3 of us on a family vacation and the first time in the U.K., the hospitality was outstanding. The room was very clean and tidy. These accomodations make me never want to stay in a hotel again.

Room Tip: Street noise was minimal on a street front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Nice location, clean and neat rooms and most importantly excellent people i was feeling home during my stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liaqat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.0 mi away
Heathcote Bed & Breakfast
Heathcote Bed & Breakfast
#71 of 231 in Inverness
134 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abermar Guest House
Abermar Guest House
#38 of 231 in Inverness
167 reviews
10.2 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Ardersier
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cedar Villa Guest House
Cedar Villa Guest House
#103 of 231 in Inverness
150 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lyndon Guest House
Lyndon Guest House
#59 of 231 in Inverness
148 reviews
0.9 mi away
Silverstrands Guest House
Silverstrands Guest House
#28 of 231 in Inverness
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Guest House

Property: Park Guest House
Address: 51 Glenurquhart Road, Inverness IV3 5PB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Guest House is a fabulous Victorian Villa offering bed and breakfast accommodation with Highland Hospitality at its very best. Located only a short walk from Inverness City Centre, River Ness and Inverness Castle it is perfect for both business and leisure travellers. All rooms are well appointed and there is a large private guest car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Park Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing