We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, lively place for good food & entertainment...”

Hootananny Inverness
Ranked #14 of 251 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $21
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great, lively place for good food & entertainment...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We went there one evening pretty late for a last drink and liked the atmosphere - people sitting around a table playing traditional music plus candle light, old wood, happy colors. We went back some other day but reserved a table for dinner since it had been quite full before. Service was happy to help us though it does have a bar feel - which we liked! - and the food was quick, hot and very good! Nice fresh potatoes, very yummy soup, delicious pie and good portion size. The place filled up more and more and eventually a band set up to play country music. Was great, not too loud for the place and though it was quite packed we found a bit of place to dance. The atmosphere was cheerful with people of all ages, tourists and locals. Definitely worth a visit - best place we've been to in Inverness.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kadeeyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    233
    64
    24
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Welcomed like old friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our group of 10, visiting from the States, stopped in to listen to the music and were immediately swept up in a welcoming flurry of pats on the back, impromptu dancing and friendly greetings from many people. The music was incredible - The North Sea Gas - and most of us bought their CD to take home with us. It was a rocking, fun, incredibly friendly place to kick up our heels and get a taste of "The real Inverness".

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Durand39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Ignorant and shocking”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

I recently visited this place the foot was rubbish and the waiters well if you call arguing in front a full restaurant with a person that had a small complaint about her food coming out cold and the chips following 15minutes later ! The normal thing to do then it's a must go to place! I personally have never been so embarrassed and the tall blonde haired skinny waiter you are a joke! Ill never be back here and ill do everything I can to put other off!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jnjonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great wee find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Looking from outside it isn't much but do go over the threshold and try their food. We booked a table as recommended. Staff were lovely and really friendly. They even made up a desert for one of our party who had nut allergies. Food was amazing, really beautiful and great value. Service was quick too. Try the sticky toffee pudding- you won't regret it! Lots of great restaurants in Inverness but I found this place very cosy and great value, just excellent!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GFowler84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great meal and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

It was a busy evening, but we were still offered fantastic service and food. We stayed for the jam session and enjoyed drinks and the cozy environment! Great place and staff!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank marieryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hootananny Inverness also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Hootananny Inverness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing