We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fun evening”

Hootananny Inverness
Ranked #14 of 251 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Schenectady, NY
Level Contributor
255 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“fun evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Fun evening in Inverness. I recommend at least stopping by if you happen to find yourself with a bit of time to spare in the evening. We met several tourists and several locals. One local in particular felt the need to stand VERY close and sing just for us, poking me in the nose. He MAY have had a few pints. :-) But, those are the kind of vacation experiences one remembers. And the actual musicians playing were quite good. Only complaint - would be great if there were more places to sit (or at least stand without feeling like you are very much in everyone's way).

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank wraar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    232
    64
    24
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Funky place with good food and drink.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Interesting pub in the middle of Inverness that we happened upon. Stopped in for lunch and were very pleased with the food and the service.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ernie0528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
267 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Traditional !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

The food was very traditional, not a lot of choice but what was on the menu was very good, we tried several dishes, and two of the three desserts, all were really good, the wait staff was friendly and hard working. after the meal their was live music it was very Traditional. After the kitchen closed 9 pm, the bar was packed standing room only, we stayed for a little while is was good music but we felt a bit crowded so we said our good-nights. Recommend reservation tho not required.Price was also nice. Would not be good with little ones.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hammerholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Very nice pub good food worth a try. We were on holiday touring the highlands and stopped in past this pub. Very unassuming from the outside but nice inside

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't let the name fool you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Great food especially the skink soup, lamb, salmon,and the toffee pudding dessert was to die for. We needed more nights in Inverness to try the other dishes. Also we were very impressed with our friendly and knowledgeable server. This restaurant should be on everyone's list. All main dishes were under 10 pounds.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank easydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hootananny Inverness also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Hootananny Inverness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing