We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent! ”
Review of Indian Ocean

Indian Ocean
Ranked #77 of 255 Restaurants in Inverness
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent! ”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Spur of the moment visit, definitely a wise choice.
Food and service both excellent. Definitely be back.

Helpful?
2 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    80
    32
    28
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Very poor experience”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Attended a family evening out to the highly recommended Indian Ocean and was very disappointed to say the least. We ordered few vegetarian and couple of meat dishes and to our horror the sauces for all the dishes were same in appearance and taste. One of the dishes we ordered was a little spicy for my son so we ordered a plain raita, which took over 20mins to arrive and to make the matters worse we saw one of the waiters running across the local shops and purchasing a tub which no doubt costs less than a £1 and we were charged £2!! We also ordered rice which was not served despite being reminded but was added in the bill. A very terrible experience to say the least.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kajpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level Contributor
100 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Burnt Garlic”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Firstly I was overlooked as I was on my own when a family walked in behind me.

That was redeemed by the starter which was amazing. "chicken chat" it came with a lemon but trying to get the juice out of it was like trying to get blood from a stone.


The main course:
Chicken tikka masala
Garlic Rice
Peshwari Naan


The chicken was nice and tender and the sauce was nice but could smell a peanut/satay essence.

Then I tasted the rice. The garlic was burnt giving off a peanut smell and tasted awful. I sent my meal back it completely ruined my meal.

It wasn't just one slice of garlic it was the whole 2 cloves.

Had a refund and left with a horrible taste in my mouth

Helpful?
Thank D11EVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“wonderful food”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

the food took a while to arrive but when it did, it was excellent - friendly people, nice restaurant - good value

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank justjennie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great choice in Inverness”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We visit several times a year and are always delighted with the quality of food and the service. There is a good choice of dishes, so it's always a tough choice between all time favourites and trying something new,

Service is fast and friendly with particularly kind attention given to chidren!

Just wished we lived closer and could go there more often!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MGS44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Ocean also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Indian Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing