We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food”

The Rajah Restaurant
Ranked #39 of 251 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Here we went in Inverness for business and look for a meal. We are looking at the street menu and while some dinners are leaving the restaurant, they are telling us how much they liked it. Did not need more and here we are dinning at the Rajah.
Food was very good, they offer many variation from different regions of India plus Pakistan. I am not a connaisseur and dont really notice the differences. That beiing said, everything that was presented to us was tasting very very good. From Papadums to the more elaborate dishes.
Will go again if i am ever back to Inverness

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlyB71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    141
    54
    29
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
140 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Faultless and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Unbelievable value for the lunchtime set menu of £7.95 for two courses.

Food was delicious. Chicken pakora were fresh and just spicy enough.
Chicken korma was completely delicious and fresh.
Lamb curry was deep and rich.

Stunning food and impeccable service - the whole thing came to just £25 including drinks for two.

Well done Rajah, we will definitely be back!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank barkwilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
209 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

I've been to Indians all around the UK and this one was pretty good, I am not keen on the modern new Indian where they take more care of the salad than the main item. It the standard menu but i left me meal in the hands of the waiter, he chose well. This was good food, well served, standard prices. And loved the sailor suits the waiters wore. Retro but nice, I have another night in Inverness might go back

John cavanagh 9/10 aug 2013

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our hotel recommended this restaurant, we didn't really want Indian on our first night in Scotland but by the time my flight arrived (9pm) most other places had stopped serving. The food here was delicious, portions were huge (we shared a main and a side order and this was plenty), service was great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jojom999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alva, Clackmannanshire
Level Contributor
86 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Time warped...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This place was second choice for us, and we descended the stairs to the restaurant in what looks like the bowels of the earth. We entered an exact replica of late 1970's Indian restaurant, complete with swirly carpets and copious amounts of red and gold. Tables were formally set, waiters wore ill fitting white tunics with epillettes..! Epillettes!!

Now, at that point - we could have turned on our heels and hot footed it up the stairs - but I'd forgotten my inhaler, so, being the adventurous types that we are - we decided to stay.

Pristine service, and at 6.30pm the other tables were filling up fast. We got 3 Poppadoms with four dips - which were well presented and fresh. The menu is traditional and still includes such stalwarts as 'Maryland Chicken' for all you bland types out there..(sigh).

To enhance our retro experience - our mains came on a hostess trolley. A blast from the past for us, but hey - the food was good. Somewhat traditional and uninspiring, but well cooked and served on hot plates.

We can see the attraction - it is a safe place to go. Does what it says on the tin, etc.

Thanks guys.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rajah Restaurant also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to The Rajah Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing