We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality for food and service”
Review of Chez Roux

Chez Roux
Ranked #54 of 255 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British, French, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
grantown-on-spey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Top quality for food and service”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

From the moment we arrived, we were treated as valued guests. After being shown to the comfortable bar area we were given 4 dining choices - bar meal OR a la carte , table d'hote or express menu in the restaurant. We were out for a special lunch and chose the a la carte restaurant option. As we enjoyed cocktails in the bar with nibbles, we ordered our meals and then delicious complimentary canapes were served. Very soon, we were taken to out table with a bay window view over Inverness and the lower Ness Valley. Food was delivered at a leisurely pace and was excellent. We couldn't manage the dessert courses as the portions were quite generous. Twice baked duo of cheese souffle was light and perfectly cooked ; my wife's mackerel salad was accompanied by lovely vegetables and a light mayonnaise dressing . Mains were sea bream and chicken with superb vegetables and sauces. Overall cost of lunch at £60 wuith drinks was very reasonable

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bill s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    14
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Absolutely amazing restaurant!! We had amazing friendly service from the staff and the food was amazing!!

We sat in the bar for drinks and appetizers while studying the menu first of all, the staff were friendly and helpful. Lovely atmosphere in the bar as well.

The restaurant staff were extremely friendly. Chatting away informally and making us feel very welcome. We didn't order any starters but the chef sent out small complimentary portions of their soup of the day to ease our wait for our main course, was a lovely touch!!

Free made bread on the table as well as gorgeous cutlery and crockery.

Can't rate this place highly enough, it is slightly expensive but it is a lovely place to eat and we'll definitely be back next time we are in Inverness. Well worth a visit!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank weeyin83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLASGOW
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, highly recommend!”
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We had the best meal during our visit to Inverness at Chez Roux. All the food we had was excellent. The head chef came out to ask about our meal. Service, wine list, surroundings and atmosphere were fabulous.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EleriandKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellence and Attentiveness”
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Chez Roux is part of the Albert Roux empire - you might call it a 'branded restaurant.' This does not detract from the quality: from the moment you step inside the lovely interior you are in the hands of trained professionals who enjoy their jobs: we really enjoyed conversations with the manager and the chef! Pre-dinner drinks and nibbles in the bar (not too sure about the eggy canape, though!) Not a long menu - but straighforward and French in style. The liver terrine was rustic and reminded us of food bought in French markets last summer; the beef cheek in its rich sauce was deep and hearty; a brace of quail in a tarragon sauce very satisfying; Roux's signature lemon tart scrumptious. In French style we had cheese before dessert and enjoyed our waiter's introductions to and enthusiasms for the selection. There seemed to be lots of staff around but they all knew what they were doing - good communication behind the scenes - and were focused on delivering friendly, quality service without any airs or graces. In style and delivery Chez Roux is very much fine dining though in the menu it's more French brasserie. It's not cheap but when the bill came we were surprised how low it was.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B-RReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Prefect. A extremley enjoyable evening”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

I visited this restaurant during a trip to Inverness last year to visit family. It was a truly wonderful experience. I myself work In Hospitality and have before worked in Restaurants in Five star hotels therefore no what is expected and can be rather fussy when it comes to service. However my experience here was faultless. I loved the style of dinning the service was prefect and the food was really really good. I am veggi and loved the fact they had a decent amount of choices for me. Instead of the usual one choice which can be very limiting and can often ruin my evening. I would deferintly return and plan to as soon as I can . Thank you for a fantastic evening.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kerriestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Roux also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Chez Roux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing