We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kind Owner, Super-clean, Great Value for money”
Review of Melrose Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Melrose Villa
Ranked #203 of 229 Inverness B&B and Inns
Applecross, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kind Owner, Super-clean, Great Value for money”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I overnighted in Inverness after dental work and was feeling fragile when I arrived. The owner welcomed me, warmed up some soup and brought it upstairs, offering any further help I needed. Room was great value compared to others in the area, super-clean, and an additional small heater was provided, which one really appreciates in a place with central heating. The location means one is minutes walk away from the centre of town. Breakfast was delicious too

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    16
    14
    10
    21
See reviews for
18
17
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I stayed at the Melrose Villa for 3 nights on a business trip and I couldn't fault it for the money I paid. This was excellent value for money, the cheapest B&B I could find, in a great central location 5mins walk from the High Street and you get a lot for your money. Despite my room being small it had everything I required and was very clean, tidy and quaintly decorated. The housekeeper does a marvellous job keeping the room clean and tidy and providing fresh towels every day. Kenny was a wonderful host, a very friendly, kind, generous and caring man and I would like to thank him for making my stay such a hassle free and enjoyable experience. The breakfast was very quick service and generous portions and indeed I would go as far to stay the cooked breakfast was cooked perfectly! Kenny is a very approachable man, and I felt if I had anything I required he would do everything he could to help and genuinely cared about his guests and them enjoying their stay. I would definitely recommend staying at the Melrose Villa to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I lived at Melrose Villa for two weeks while waiting for accommodation after starting a new job in Inverness and I am very happy with my stay. My room was very fresh and clean and was fitted with everything I required whilst living there. I found the owner, Kenny, to be very attentive, friendly and accommodating, providing genuine highland hospitality. I appreciated this as I was living entirely on my own in a new city.

The breakfast provided was excellent, with Kenny the owner asking me each day what I would like the following day, personalising my meal. This was a really lovely touch. I was made to feel very at home, and the various personal touches provided made me feel very welcome.

Melrose Villa is a very pleasant, fresh, clean, comfortable and affordable guest house and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a good value, central stay in Inverness.

Room Tip: The room with the Jack Vettriano painting in the reviews is where I stayed and it's lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

It was interesting reading previous reviews and I can but guess that cultural issues come to the floor. Expecting a guest house or bed and breakfast, or even come to that a hotel to allow guests access pre-noon is almost unheard of in the UK - there is one hotel chain, with a bright purple logo, who do permit this for a price!

And now to Kenny's place.... Melrose Villa is a pleasant enough venue when visiting Inverness. It is quite well situated to the centre.

Kenny was out to the shops when I arrived, but he was charming and welcoming. The hallway was dimly lit, but the colour scheme added to the darkness - a lighter scheme might have made it feel lighter.

The room was adequate for my needs - no plasma, but what do you expect!? there was a thick duvet and additional covers plus a heater fan in my wardrobe.

Kenny did warn about the noisy shower room fan.

The breakfast was adequate - home made fruit salad - different fruits, pineapple, prunes, fruit juices, and although only there a week after one reviewer the cereals were not hand labelled, but in plastic containers each labelled with a properly typed identity of the contents. The coffee/tea was fine, as was the toast. The moose head and colour scheme of the dining room added to the darkness. But the house had a lived in atmosphere - there was no smell of either dogs or bleach!

I presume another recent reviewer was in room 3 as this was the only room below the staircase I found. It was an adequate size, unless you had an enormous amount of luggage.

All in all, whilst not a home from home, Melrose Villa provided me with a good night's sleep - until my neighbour let their mobile phone alarm bleep bleep bleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aberl00n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

House and rooms were dirty, lock on the bedroom door was broken, dog hairs all over the carpets. Owner was unhelpful and rude. On a busy noisy road, difficult to get any sleep. A disgrace to Scotland!

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Colleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I would never recommend this place to anyone. We arrived at 11.00 Am, in the morning and rang the bell 7 times. But no one opened the door. Suddenly at the 8th ring the owner came out and said that you can’t check in before 4.30pm. We were with our luggage. But he started a huge argument. When we arrived at the appointed time there was a list of do's and don'ts. The owner never switches on the lights of the staircase. The stairs and the rooms were dusty and dirty. The breakfast was most horrible. The packed were without any labs. The cereals provided were labeled with hand. The breakfast room had rooms nos mentioned on the tables for sitting. The TV was just a piece of computer monitor. Wi-fi was very bad. The rooms was located below the staircase. The bathroom was so small that you cannot even stretch your arms. No place to move around. We kept our luggage in the ground floor area as the rooms were so small that if we kept our luggages then we could not even turn around. There is no facility of heating in the rooms. The owner is not present in case of an emergency. A terrible experience. Will never recommend it to anyone. A worst experience of my life

Room Tip: Never go ther place. It is a very bad place . The owner is terrible with his own rules and regulatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SGoaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pordenone, Italy
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Mr. McKay is the friendly host that welcomes you and takes care of the flowers in the garden.
At Melrose Villa you'll feel like a guest, rather than a customer. The furniture testifies the history of the house and, as in many of our homes, it happens that furnishings are dusty and there's a bit of mold in the shower.
Breakfast is good, even if only sweet, with toasts, jam, honey, cereals, juices, lots of fresh fruit, etc., everything well presented and not just drawn out of the fridge.
Here you are a less than 10 minutes walk away from the rail station.
Unless you prefer to stay in a sterile white-painted hotel room (or unless you want to pay some pound more to stay in a more charming place), book with confidence at Melrose.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flavio1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.0 mi away
Mardon Guest House
Mardon Guest House
#58 of 229 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waverley Guest House
Waverley Guest House
#212 of 229 in Inverness
3.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Quaich Bed and Breakfast
The Quaich Bed and Breakfast
#53 of 229 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cedar Villa Guest House
Cedar Villa Guest House
#102 of 229 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hawthorn Lodge Guest House
Hawthorn Lodge Guest House
#116 of 229 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.1 mi away
No. 29 Hotel
No. 29 Hotel
#111 of 229 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melrose Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose Villa

Property: Melrose Villa
Address: 35 Kenneth Street, Inverness, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 229 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Melrose Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melrose Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Villa Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing