We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't go there! Ever!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Melrose Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melrose Villa
Ranked #218 of 247 Inverness B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't go there! Ever!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

Discusting bathroom, no heating, food that's past due, owner who's not there when guests arrive and who doesn't care or apologize about it, paper thin walls, wi-fi connexion that works so badly you just want to throw the computer off the window, furniture that's useless since it's stuck behind a bed, tiny twin room not ensuite when it's supposed to be, such an uncomfortable matress that you can count the springs in it... what more is there to say?! This place was recommended by Petit fûté... this book is not even reliable! Most of the spots it recommends are badly rated on trip advisor!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaya24_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    16
    14
    10
    21
See reviews for
18
17
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

THis was an unexpected find. Our expectations were low since we found this at the last minute. However, we couldn't have been more wrong. From the moment we arrived, our host, Kenny, made us feel at home. He entertained us with wonderful stories during breakfast, together with chocolate Easter eggs for Easter. The breakfast was hearty and plentiful. While our room did not have its own bathroom, we had ready access to one just outside the door. The house was unique and utterly charming. Kenny was one of the most interesting people we met on our travels. He made the experience one to remember.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weekend_traveler82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

I had no accommodation coming over from south africa to visit my son and upon arrival in inverness, I was recommended to go to Kenny MacKay at Villa Melrose. Kenny is a charming host and made me feel so at home. His home is warm and friendly, the breakfasts very good and the accommodation was clean and comfortable. Very very grateful to him as arriving in high season with the highland games I was lucky to get his last room and then making a new friend - what a bonus!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackwatch09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed here July 2011 and thoroughly enjoyed it. Kenny gave us a warm welcome and couldn't have been more helpful. The house and its furnishings have a real period charm and our room was really comfortable. Our host was a mine of information on Inverness and the locality with recommendations on where to go and on good restaurants in the town. His advice was spot on and we enjoyed a very pleasant evening in one of his suggested eateries followed by a stroll along the river bank. Breakfast the next morning was "fit for a king"; the fresh fruit salad was literally that: a mix of beautiful fresh strawberries, melons, raspberries, apples etc. The cooked breakfast was abundant and enjoyed with a cafetiere of freshly brewed coffee. Though the parking was on-street (the only initial concern) it proved not to be a problem as there was ample room on adjacent streets and plenty of time in the morning before we needed to move the car. Over all we have very pleasant memories of Melrose Villa and highly recommend it to you for your visit to Inverness. We'll definitely stay there again on a return visit to the Highlands!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twsgolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

We stumbled upon this guest house while on a last minute trip to the city and have to say what a brilliant time we had. The owner, Kenny was mad as a box of frogs! (in a good way), what a laugh we had with him, he also provided us with some great places to go in the city and great places to eat and drink. Breakfast was really nice and the room we had was more than acceptable - in fact, we couldnt have asked for better for the price. We will definitely go back next time we are in the city.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy_traveller5888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

I found this B&B to be very dark, dirty and cramped. I was travelling alone and yet was put into a room which had 3 single beds in it with barely enough room to walk around them. A very disappointing experience. Needless to say I would NOT recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieMc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briancon, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2011

I do not think we can treat customers this way. The sheets should be used for multiple tenants, I had to put towels under the heads of children so I was reluctant. The shower was dirty with hairs, and end this horrible experience, the breakfast was moldy jam, I have noticed the owners but that did not even shocked.
A French family very disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrenchyTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.0 mi away
Mardon Guest House
Mardon Guest House
#55 of 247 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waverley Guest House
Waverley Guest House
#230 of 247 in Inverness
3.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Quaich Bed and Breakfast
The Quaich Bed and Breakfast
#54 of 247 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cedar Villa Guest House
Cedar Villa Guest House
#115 of 247 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hawthorn Lodge Guest House
Hawthorn Lodge Guest House
#118 of 247 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.1 mi away
No. 29 Hotel
No. 29 Hotel
#119 of 247 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melrose Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose Villa

Property: Melrose Villa
Address: 35 Kenneth Street, Inverness, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 247 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Melrose Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melrose Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Villa Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing