We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, lovely food and good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, lovely food and good service”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I stayed here for one night when my flight to Gatwick was cancelled on my way home from a business trip in Inverness. It didn't matter that we were there because the airline had sent us there, we were treated as though we were paying customers in our own right.

The evening meal served was lovely and there was a great wine list to select from. If I'd been paying, I would have expected to pay more for such a meal as was indicated on the menu, as the price was not that much above the usual business type chain hotels. The meal was simply excellent.

In the morning, as I was rebooked on an afternoon flight, I was given a late check out. Breakfast was to die for.

The hotel is in lovely surroundings but is a little bit out of it if you want alternative pubs and restaurants and you will either need a car or rely on taxis to get around, but it is very quiet at night and rooms are extremely comfortable.

Would definitely stay here again if I return to the area on holiday.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoyFromEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    164
    84
    35
    14
See reviews for
95
259
16
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Just back from a lovely weekend at the New Drummossie. Excellent service at check in desk with a friendly receptionist.

Spacious bedroom, which was spotlessly clean. Large bathroom with bath and walk in shower.

Breakfast both mornings was to a high standard, freshly cooked and served piping hot. We ate in the restaurant on the second evening and again everything was of excellent quality.

The Drumrossie is slightly farther out of Inverness than I had expected, but a taxi to the city centre was only £10.

Room Tip: Wi Fi on the second floor worked perfectly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotsgirl001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Had a lovely weekend stay at the Drummossie for Valentine's weekend. It was arranged as a surprise by my boyfriend following attending the wedding of a cousin (which was excellent) at the hotel previously. Check in was quick and efficient, led to a beautiful spacious room with views to the gardens where we could see deer! We also had a bottle of prosecco on ice waiting for us (pre-oredered by my other half) and fluffy white bathrobes. We decided to order room service and everything we had was top quality at a very reasonable price. We also dined in the restaurant on our second evening and again everything was delicious. Following dinner we ordered a malt whiskey each from the extensive menu, which was served with a jug of water and ice so that we could adjust it to our liking. All in all a lovely weekend away in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiniDiver_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Just returned from a weekend at this excellent hotel.It may be expensive but you get what you pay for. The staff were extremely helpful and the room was very well appointed. Good shower lovely duvets very clean with coffee tea etc.
The food in the restaurant was first class hence the 2 rosettes and well deserved.We will most
certainly return to this hotel.

Room Tip: I don't think there are much difference in the room locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonilGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Our dinner was spectacular, a wonderful selection of offerings which were produced to a high standard. Our room was lovely, the breakfast was very nice although one of my friends food was rather cold. Excellent selection of wine and an excellent price for our stay. We will be back.

Room Tip: Phone and talk to the staff on reception, they certainly helped me get the right room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank issy_grieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed here after a long day of traveling and were delighted at the comforts of our large room for a family. We have plenty of room around our queen bed and single bed. The bathroom was large, very clean and modern. I like the understated tartan decor as well. We only regret not making dinner reservations at the hotel because we had to drive back to Inverness to eat. Only 10 minutes by car, though. We slept very well and comfortably. The breakfast buffet was good in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Efranz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed at the Drumossie in February this year, it is probably the 5th time we have stayed at this hotel, we return because the level of service and food is always excellent and this time was no exception. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. If everything was perfect we would give the hotel a 5 out of 5 rating but there were a couple of things that slightly disappointed. The skirting boards and woodwork in the room were dusty, the hotel information book was a bit tacky and the corridors cold. Small details that are easily fixed so hopefully the hotel management will address these issues.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front on upper floors have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baxt304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
2.9 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
2.7 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Drumossie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Drumossie Hotel

Property: Macdonald Drumossie Hotel
Address: Old Perth Road, Inverness IV2 5BE, Scotland (Formerly New Drumossie Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Inverness
#8 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#11 Family Hotel in Inverness
#12 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Drumossie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Macdonald Drumossie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing