We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Having read the reviews re-restaurant I had high expectations of a delicious lunch out with friends there. The service was prompt, the dishes well presented but most unexciting! The starter of ham terrine and sweet of cream/fruit pavlova were pleasant but no better than you could put on a plate yourself.
The main course looked very good and the plates were hot. The vegetables were nice but the slow cooked beef stringy and complately tasteless. Most disappointing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viking22210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 609 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

Booked a 2 night stay at the last minute so got a very good rate. The room was excellent lovely and large but sold as a double but was actually 2 twins together and 2 separate quilts. The room was clean but let down by a very noisy fan in the bathroom which spoiled a relaxing bath. The water pressure was excellent so bath filled really quickly. We had dinner in the restaurant the first night and were surprised and overjoyed by the fantastic service and the wonderful food. The service was second to none and the staff polite,helpful and well trained. Second night we ate out to try the town. We didn't have breakfast as not included in price. Our room overlooked the car park at the front.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelagh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Had heard about this hotel from friends who have been at several events in the conference centre. It came highly recommended and rightly so. Our room was spacious and nicely decorated, the bathroom was also very spacious with a large bath and seperate walk-in shower. The lounge area is comfortable and the dining room set out perfectly. Our evening meal, served by excellent waiting staff, was superb and the same applies to the breakfast. It was very quiet when we stayed but would hope they would provide the same service when busy. The hotel does sit a little out of the city but if planning to visit Culloden and surrounding area it's ideal. Prices very reasonable for the standard provided. Will definitely return - hopefully before too long.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbskyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel was very comfortable if a bit old fashioned in decoration. We had a large room overlooking the car park at the front. Bathroom was very clean but the shower a bit weak. Used to a power shower in this type of hotel. There was no shampoo in the toiletries so glad we had taken our own. We were given some the next day though. Bizarrely there were no drawers for storage - just shelves in the wardrobe. These were very dusty and I had to clean them first before using them. Bed was comfortable. The lounge areas were nice and there was a wedding the day we arrived. Plenty of space not to feel overwhelmed by guests.
Breakfast the first day was spoiled by the waitress who took my husband's order and started taking mine and was disgraced by people entering the dining room. She turned her back therefor missing me saying I would have the same as my husband with a potato scone and fried egg. He got a full breakfast, I got a potato scone and fried egg!!!! I was too shocked to say anything.
The Maitre d' gave us good advice on sight seeing around Inverness.
We had dinner the first night and it was delicious. The service was first class.
The hotel web page suggested it was 5 minutes from the station. It is actually 41/2 miles from Inverness and even a car was pushed to do it in 5 minutes. We walked and had to get a taxi back. The walk in to the town is not very scenic so probably not worth it as there are much nicer walks along the river. We did enjoy the stay but could have been better.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lainey73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We expected a higher standard of hygene from a hotel of this level, our room was a good size with large bath/shower room but the view of the bins from our window was not so good. We had a stain on the bed throw, I think it was food, the guest information book was covered with cup rings and there were cob webs in the corridor leading to our room.
The meal at night was fantastic and the service was second to none.
The breakfast was also tasty with the same service.
As for entertainment, there was always the tv.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed here for a night while on business in the area.
Large room, very clean and comfortable. Liked the bathroom with bath and large walk in shower.
Staff were all very pleasant. Food was excellent. Would stay here again. Only thing to note if here on holiday not in centre of town if you would want to go out and enjoy local night life.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotlandTravel-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Have just enjoyed an lovely weekend at this hotel, booked on a special spring break deal. Facilities very good, food fantastic and the whole experience enhanced by the charming and helpful staff. Particular mention must go to Richard, our waiter, who went out of his way to make sure we were well looked after.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
2.9 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#6 of 36 in Inverness
1,901 reviews
2.5 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#13 of 36 in Inverness
814 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 36 in Inverness
1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Drumossie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Drumossie Hotel

Address: Old Perth Road, Inverness IV2 5BE, Scotland (Formerly New Drumossie Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Inverness
#8 Family Hotel in Inverness
#8 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#12 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: $76 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Drumossie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Macdonald Drumossie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing