We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed here for two nights on an anniversary weekend away, can't complain about a thing relating to the hotel , check in was smooth , room was clean and fresh , breakfast was brilliant though with great service from the young girl, only negative for some would be the location being a little bit out of the town, we were ok with this as we walked during the days rather than shopping

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 608 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

The staff are superb, so attentive and accommodating, no matter how early or later the hour. The choice, quality and presentation of food was excellent, without any compromise on vegetarian options. The comfort, cleanliness and attention to detail in bedrooms and public areas was of the highest standard. This was an exceptional venue for a large and complex event as the staff made the whole process seem easy. The Drumossie delivered a warmth often lacking in conference-style venues and changed my perception about what can be achieved.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NGBute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

A beautiful hotel. Older in style but nicely maintained. Beautiful grounds. Helpful and knowledgeable front desk assistance. Deluxe breakfast set up. Elegant dining room. Local scotch selection. Bed rooms are roomy, and bathroom was the largest we had at any of our hotels in Scotland. It is located outside of Inverness, so you have to drive or taxi into town.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Our son's wedding reception was held at the Drumossie last July.The service was first class and the professionalism of the staff was impeccable.The food was outstanding and the kitchen managed to serve over a hundred guests all at once .Congratulations to the Chefs and the kitchen staff and thank you all for a remarkable and unforgettable day.Anybody thinking of wedding or similar event,place this hotel on top of your list.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EJW52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here in may for two nights. We were attending a family wedding at the hotel. The hotel is five miles from Inverness town centre. The room was a great size for a family room and was very clean. Service food, staff we all excellent. Hope we will return again

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jojoskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

All the staff go the extra mile to ensure a super stay. Restaurant simply superb from its freshley cooked breakfasts to the fine dining at night.
The food is very imaginative and we feel the chef has far outgrown the two rosette award and should be in line for a Michilin star.
Definitly one to visit.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights bed and breakfast in mid October. The hotel is on its own ten minutes from the centre of Perth therefore a car is essential. Large well furnished and very comfortable rooms. Huge lounge area with ample seating on ground floor. There was a wedding on both days we stayed but the large function rooms meant the wedding guests did not take over the residents lounge. Breakfast was up to the usual McDonlad standard.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happy_Holidaymaker51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
2.1 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#5 of 36 in Inverness
1,878 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#13 of 36 in Inverness
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
620 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Drumossie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Drumossie Hotel

Address: Old Perth Road, Inverness IV2 5BE, Scotland (Formerly New Drumossie Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Inverness
#8 Family Hotel in Inverness
#8 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#12 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: $88 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Drumossie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Drumossie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing