We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic staff, service, food, venue....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fantastic staff, service, food, venue....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Had family meal for wedding anniversary, and the hotel could not have been more accommodating. From the beginning, they were extremely helpful. The evening was fantastic. The food was outstanding, the staff were attentive, friendly, yet not intrusive. The venue really could not be faulted. We had such a great evening. They gave us our own room to hold our meal. We really could not fault a thing. Fabulous. We will definitely recommend to others and be returning ourselves.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsHoops77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    162
    83
    34
    14
See reviews for
94
256
15
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness Scotish Highlands
Level Contributor
152 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Attended a wedding reception here a few weeks ago, and the organisation of the event by the hotel was faultless. The food was excellent, as was the service, so all in all an excellent experience.
However, quite a few of the guests were staying over-night and the quoted rate, (which was supposed to be a specially reduced rate for guests attending a function), was £165 per room, which many people found to be excessive. I went on-line and found that you can obtain a substantially lower rate by booking either direct on the hotel web-site, or on the many 'bargain sites' such as booking.com.
I understand that the rooms are of a high-spec finish, but didn't actually see any of them.
Hope this is helpful to other guests attending a function at this property.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Highland2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Had a wonderful time at my friends wedding this week and just had to share my thoughts. The food was excellent the staff were attentive and the atmosphere was relaxed. I would recommend this hotel to anyone planning a wedding the grounds are lovely and private. I am planning to book a wee break away next time I plan to go to Inverness. I will be booking in to try out the acomodation soon!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

We were at this hotel last weekend, wow what a beautiful place the hotel was so lovely for a wedding and the grounds were lovely, food was very good and I would recommend anyone who is coming to this area to book this place

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elizabeth451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrewshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here for three nights at the beginning of August. When we arrived we were given the key to room 300 and what a room!! It has the circular window that you can see from the photograph. It had a 4 poster bed and an enormous bathroom. The only thing that was missing was perhaps a safe to put valuables in. It was very quiet and not too far from the centre of Inverness. We had our evening meal in the restaurant twice and it was superb, breakfast was again of a high standard.
Overall, we would have no qualms about coming back here, the staff were all very friendly. The hotel seem to cater for a number of coach tours but there was never any hold ups when dining.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmad5452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed at the New Drumrossie Hotel this summer where I also attended a wedding. Food, room and service was to a very good standard and I would recommend to other people. However when checking out some items were added to my room service bill by another person and I had to pay for the items that I did not purchase. They need to address their room service policy as anybody can purchase items by just stating their room number.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iwan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here recently for a wedding. The hotel is in a lovely setting. We paid a special wedding rate of £160 which is still very expensive particularly as we had to stay 2 nights. Some of the staff were excellent and very helpful and others were not at all e.g. not moving linen trolleys out of the way in a very narrow corridor to let a buggy past. There was not even a box of tissues in the bedroom for that price. We asked for a banana at breakfast to give to our baby, but 'the kitchen didn't have any bananas' which I find very hard to believe. You also have to pay a £2.50 supplement for a very small amount of smoked salmon at breakfast. I would not rush to stay there again - I don't feel the cost is at all justified.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cad16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
2.7 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Drumossie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Drumossie Hotel

Property: Macdonald Drumossie Hotel
Address: Old Perth Road, Inverness IV2 5BE, Scotland (Formerly New Drumossie Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Inverness
#8 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#11 Family Hotel in Inverness
#12 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Drumossie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Drumossie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing