We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Had a wonderful time at my friends wedding this week and just had to share my thoughts. The food was excellent the staff were attentive and the atmosphere was relaxed. I would recommend this hotel to anyone planning a wedding the grounds are lovely and private. I am planning to book a wee break away next time I plan to go to Inverness. I will be booking in to try out the acomodation soon!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 599 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

We were at this hotel last weekend, wow what a beautiful place the hotel was so lovely for a wedding and the grounds were lovely, food was very good and I would recommend anyone who is coming to this area to book this place

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elizabeth451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here for three nights at the beginning of August. When we arrived we were given the key to room 300 and what a room!! It has the circular window that you can see from the photograph. It had a 4 poster bed and an enormous bathroom. The only thing that was missing was perhaps a safe to put valuables in. It was very quiet and not too far from the centre of Inverness. We had our evening meal in the restaurant twice and it was superb, breakfast was again of a high standard.
Overall, we would have no qualms about coming back here, the staff were all very friendly. The hotel seem to cater for a number of coach tours but there was never any hold ups when dining.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelmad5452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed at the New Drumrossie Hotel this summer where I also attended a wedding. Food, room and service was to a very good standard and I would recommend to other people. However when checking out some items were added to my room service bill by another person and I had to pay for the items that I did not purchase. They need to address their room service policy as anybody can purchase items by just stating their room number.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iwan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here recently for a wedding. The hotel is in a lovely setting. We paid a special wedding rate of £160 which is still very expensive particularly as we had to stay 2 nights. Some of the staff were excellent and very helpful and others were not at all e.g. not moving linen trolleys out of the way in a very narrow corridor to let a buggy past. There was not even a box of tissues in the bedroom for that price. We asked for a banana at breakfast to give to our baby, but 'the kitchen didn't have any bananas' which I find very hard to believe. You also have to pay a £2.50 supplement for a very small amount of smoked salmon at breakfast. I would not rush to stay there again - I don't feel the cost is at all justified.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cad16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed for one night. Room quiet,spotless, spacious and comfortable. Staff fantastic, they are professional yet maintain a nice comfortable atmosphere.
The real surprise was the food. What an absolute treat. Just delicious.
Highly recommend. Yes expensive, but worth every penny.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weekendsaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed one night and the price was reasonable, the room was excellent and the breakfast was perfect (no grease etc.). Furthermore, the Breakfast Supervisor Anna from Ukraine was outstanding attending to everyone's needs without any requirement for people to call upon her. My wife is an ex Silver Service Waitress having worked in some very good hotels in the past. Anna was excellent and just didn't miss a trick. Superb hotel and we will be back to stay again.

Room Tip: We used 'Late Rooms' on a Thursday and the price was reasonable. It might be a little expens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CKMorison1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
2.1 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#6 of 36 in Inverness
1,845 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#15 of 36 in Inverness
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Drumossie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Drumossie Hotel

Address: Old Perth Road, Inverness IV2 5BE, Scotland (Formerly New Drumossie Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Inverness
#8 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#11 Family Hotel in Inverness
#12 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: $91 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Drumossie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Drumossie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing