We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food”

The Riverside Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 257 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $52
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: We are a small family run restaurant along the River Ness. We are a family team with over 12 years experience in the hospitality trade. Our restaurant reflects our passion for excellent Scottish fayre. We offer lunches, high teas, early evening and a la carte meals with a selection to suit all tastes.
Sevenoaks
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We so enjoyed our meals (poached halibut) that we returned a week later and had exactly the same dishes. The restaurant is small and it is essential to book. The owners and small staff are welcoming, knowledgeable and efficient.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank j_clifford2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    91
    31
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Looking for a nice restaurant in Inverness as part of a Birthday Treat for my better half. Did a bit of research and opted for the Riverside. Wanted a quiet location in the centre which offered a little bit of quality for the special occassion. Couldnt have made a better choice. Quite literally the best meal we have ever had. Venison was just beautiful and so tender, her seafood was bursting with flavour. The service was excellent, very attentive, polite and efficient. For the observant listeners out there, you can hear quite a diverse range of accents and some amazing stories between the fellow diners.
Very relaxed, cozy, quaint environment. I would recommend booking, as we did and i would also recommend (we didnt but it looks like a cracking spot on a nice day) the window seat as it offered a prime view over the river.
Overall, Superb. Thanks

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank oggyoggyoggy1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Fabulous. Food excellent. Compared with other Inverrness restaurants this one is the real deal. Worth every penny, excellent wines also and good service. The chef is the best we have had.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Calder, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Beautiful meal”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Very large menu of traditional fare. Food was both good quality and value. I would recommend this restaurant , and possibly advise booking in high season

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quiet Meal”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Had a quiet meal on a Wednesday evening. The food was delicious and the service attentive without being obtrusive. Reasonably priced. All in all, would recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sockmonstersmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Riverside Restaurant also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to The Riverside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing