We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class”

The Riverside Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 258 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $51
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a small family run restaurant along the River Ness. We are a family team with over 12 years experience in the hospitality trade. Our restaurant reflects our passion for excellent Scottish fayre. We offer lunches, high teas, early evening and a la carte meals with a selection to suit all tastes.
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First Class”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Visited this restaurant on Saturday evening and had a first class meal.
The service was excellent, attentive but unobtrusive, the food was well prepared and presented and was a joy to eat.
Other Inverness restaurants may be rated slightly higher (at the time of booking this was rated fourth - I think) but having experienced the quality of food offered by the Riverside I won't be going elsehwere should I return to Inverness.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nungate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    87
    31
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best Meal in Scotland”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We spent 26 days in Scotland and this was our most memorable meal of all. Dined here September 14. Starters: West Coast Mussels served in a smoked bacon, cider & spring onion cream and Calamari served with a red pepper & smoked paprika aioli & salad - both fabulous. We both had Rack of Scottish Lamb with a stilton dauphonoise, roasted chantenay carrots & a red wine jus for our main course. The lamb was cooked perfectly and tasted like lamb should taste. The potatoes and carrots were divinely prepared and presentation was superb. Dessert blew us away - River Restaurants Highland Cranachan - their Traditional Highland Dessert is made from raspberries, whisky, cream and honey enveloped with oatmeal and served in a homemade brandy snap basket - beyond fantastic! Wines are reasonably priced. Service was spot on. Wish we had more time in Inverness so that we could return to this delightful restaurant. If you are going to Inverness, make a reservation here - don't miss it!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leendaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice cafe style restaurant”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Been here a few times, always good food at a decent price especially if you go for a late lunch and get the 2 course offer. would go again but reservations are a definite in the summer months

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“quality, value, freshness - lovely!”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Totally recommend this restaurant. Great views of the river Ness, the lunch menu is ridiculously good value and the food is fantastic. Book ahead for the weekend and enjoy!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank a_stravaiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lucky Second Choice”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Being our first time in Inverness, we checked out various retaurants during the day, reading menus posted in windows. We had decided on one close to our hotel but, when we arrived, they had a post-it note saying they were closed that evening. We crossed the Grieg St bridge and found the Riverside Restaurant, a most fortunate discovery. Seated promptly (wihout a reservation, of course) and proceeded to be blown away by the service and food. The "lassies" were attentive and informed. I started with the Pan-seared Scallops for a starter...delicious. My wife had the Rack of Highland Lamb and I had the Venison Saddle and both were seasoned and cooked perfectly...mouth-watering. The wine jus on each, red for the lamb and madiera for the venison complemented the meats subtly and perfectly. And my wife's meringue, fruit and cream "mess" (their name for it) was crowned with spun caramel sugar. Beautifully presented, as was all. I never thought I would be totally amazed by Scottish cuisine but this place has it down pat. Although not the least expensive meal we had on our vacation, it was worth every "pence." Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Riverside Restaurant also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to The Riverside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing