We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying to be cool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
pentahotel Inverness
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Trying to be cool”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Having read glowing reviews on trip advisor I decided this would suit my needs for a one night stay and the accommodation certainly was excellent. My room was clean, good shower, nice layout and generally welcoming.
Reception staff were friendly but I did stand like a lemon for a bit at check in as one member of staff ignored my presence after he had dealt with a couple checking in. I waited and was seen by his colleague who at least apologies for my wait.
Breakfast was a disorganised shambles. Space where food was set out was far too small and I think I attempted to get bacon, eggs, other hot food on 3 separate occasions and each time it ran out before I got close to the servery! The quality and choice of breads and fruits appeared good but it would have taken several visits to buffet to have a half chance of getting a plateful of food so I just gave up.
The loud music and slightly dull but 'cool' lighting of lobby area didn't really work for me,especially as it was sunny outside and it always helps to see the sun in Scotland.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolinagmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ina D, General Manager at pentahotel Inverness, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Carolina,
Thank you for your review of our hotel and I'm sorry to hear you encountered some issues during your stay.
We understand our new 'pentalounge' is not to everyone's taste and accept your comments.
Our team are keen to continually improve the service they provide and we take all feedback, good or bad, very seriously.
I hope that you will consider a stay with us again and we can show you an enjoyable stay.
If you would like to discuss your feedback with me personally please do call the hotel directly. Kind regards
Ina Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    415
    248
    110
    63
See reviews for
118
436
78
343
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I would like to recommend this hotel to all. You will receive excellent customer service from staff and management. I cannot fault the rooms really clean and airy. Compliments to cleaning staff. The food is fresh and offers a wide selection at breakfast. Even healthy option. Waiting staff are outstanding and make you feel welcome. Thank you. Ruth turner

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welshruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ina D, General Manager at pentahotel Inverness, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Ruth

Thank you for your positive review - "A fab groovy hotel :-)”

It’s great to read your feedback regarding your stay, our team are delighted!

We hope to see you very soon.

Kind regards
Ina Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with work & thoroughly enjoyed; The decor is STUNNING in the bar area, very decadent, lavish & comfortable.

Friendly & welcoming staff who went to every length to help! The breakfast was SUPERB, such a great choice & the room service food menu is very unique & all looked so yummy.

Only comment I would say is that the rooms might benefit from a rug/carpeting...? Laminate flooring was quite harsh & cold!

Overall brilliant :)

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ina D, General Manager at pentahotel Inverness, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear guest,

A big thanks from us all at the hotel for taking the time to write your review. It’s fantastic to read your great comments and we're happy you enjoyed your stay.

We plan to refurbish our bedrooms in the future and I will suggest a different floor covering.

I hope you will visit us again soon.

Kind regards

Ina Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

I will definitely be back! It's a great place to start of a night out or just to chill, there is free wifi, a pool table and a ps4! The staff are all brilliant, especially katie.. she went out of her way to help with anything! All in all this place is a must see!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank scottttyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ina D, General Manager at pentahotel Inverness, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Scott

Thank you from Katie for the special mention! Its great to receive such positive feedback.
We are all very proud of our new hotel and feedback (good or bad) helps us to improve.
I hope you had time to enjoy the 'pentalounge' in particular the pool table, PS4 and FREE wifi.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Ina Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Fantastic. Great place to stay. Nice and cosy and the Breakfast has so much choice would highly recommend
Rooms very clean Staff very helpful and polite Pentahotel Inverness is worth a visit
Great Cocktails Lovely choice of Vodkas

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ina D, General Manager at pentahotel Inverness, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Liz
Thank you for the 5* review!
I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and very much appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel.
We are very proud of our hard working team and we continue to look for new ways to improve our service for our guests.
We do look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
Ina Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Wow love love love this new hotel in Inverness. How nice to go somewhere that is trending in all the right places. Its so "WITH IT"...Disco Balls are back
Absolutely love the mood lighting that changes with accordance to time of day and atmosphere. I had the most wonderful SUKI Green Tea, loose leaf, served by Sarah who took time to chat to me. Although i was visiting during the day it was so relaxing i didnt want to leave!
Now im looking forward to going back and spending an evening sampling the food and the extensive cocktail menu. What a great place for a night out. See you all soon :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loobylou18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ina D, General Manager at pentahotel Inverness, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear guest,

We really appreciate you taking time to post your review.
Thank you for your kind words, the team are delighted. In particular Sarah for the special mention. The SUKI tea you enjoyed is very popular and we hope to see you again very soon!

Kind regards

Ina Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This place is newly refurbished and looks absolutely fantastic.
Nice and cosy lounge, very cool bar/reception.
My boyfriend and I had dinner and the food was amazing you must try the Heart Attack burger ..some burger it was.
Staff were fabulous, friendly & room was very clean. They also have a gym which is available for residents and has all necessary equipment. Breakfast ... Oh my.. You must try penta breakfast, plenty of choice you have a salmon platter, fruit platter cooked breakfast and everything looked so fresh and tast.
Thank you for the lovely stay :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Easterneuropian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ina D, General Manager at pentahotel Inverness, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest

'Awesome hotel and service' Thank you for the fantastic review - the team are delighted.
The heart attack burger is very popular and the feedback has been amazing. It’s quite a meal!

Breakfast has been a talking point for many guests, from the continental items to the pastries, smoked salmon, eggs, bacon.....we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Ina Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Mercure Inverness Hotel
#28 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#13 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Inverness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Inverness

Property: pentahotel Inverness
Address: 63 Academy Street, Inverness IV1 1LU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Inverness
#9 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#14 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Inverness 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From our beautifully central location on Academy Street, pentahotel Inverness is your perfect base for a perfect stay in the capital of the Scottish Highlands. Shops, attractions, historic sites and the knockout northern beauty of our landscape are all here, waiting for you. And of course there’s no escaping the famous Nessie, our rarely spotted but very important local celebrity. You never know, he might be staying with us at the same time as you. Autograph opportunity… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your pentahotel Inverness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Inverness Hotel Inverness
Pentahotel Inverness Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing