We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value for money and good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Corner Bar and Bistro - CLOSED

The Corner Bar and Bistro
Price range: $13 - $45
Cuisines: British, Bar, European, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Centrally situated within Inverness City Centre the Corner Bar and Bistro provides extremely comfortable surroundings with an added touch of Scottish character. Our varied menu offers steak, chicken, fish, vegetarian and pasta dishes - there is something for everyone, including of course haggis starters and mains and daily specials! Oh, and there's no need to rush off after your meal - customers are encouraged to stay and sample our variety of beers, wines and cocktails.....!
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Value for money and good service”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This place is great value for money, anything from the grill is great but other menu items can also be recommended. Staff have always been very friendly and attentive when i have been in and the wine is pretty good value for money too.

As well as the items from the grill there are some nice twists on traditional scottish dishes. The atmosphere is nice, it has a bit of a Bistro feel as its a big open space with high ceilings, i like the mix of furniture too.

I reckon that you woudl probably pay 10-20% for the same quality food anywhere else in Inverness. We woudl normally go to Pizza Express when we wanted an affordable and reliable meal out but the corner grill is fast becoming our prefered option

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    80
    29
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Had the special which was chicken, pesto and sundried tomato pasta. Very nice meal and presented vey well. Service was good. We were looking for something different to pub food and were not disappointed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank boggas123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mouans-Sartoux, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice food in a nice ambiance”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We've just had dinner as a family of five without pre-booking. we were lucky because after us people had to wait at the bar to be seated.

They did not have a table for five but offered to use an extra chair on a table of four which was just fine. The room is nice and modern decorated. Ambiance is warm and noise level is good.

We had a selection of pasta (salmon and shallots or spicy cajun chicken), well served with a small side salad (particularily handy after spicy food) or traditional burger (beef or chicken) with extra toppings available, served with home made chips (excellent) and a small salad.

All together with some soft drinks, 57 GBP

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stabary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great find...and something different from the pub grub!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

After days of eating Pub Grub, we decided to try out a proper restaruant in Inverness, and couldn't have found a better spot. The menu items were diverse and all tantalizing, the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful (even answering several tourist questions about Scottish culture!).

Both our meals were incredible. I had the mushroom appetizer and my friend had the salmon...amazing! I then had the cajon chicken and my friend had the Lamb Shank, and both were to die for.

I would highly recommend this restaurant, not only for the incredible food, but the service was lovely. Could my excitement be because it was something different from the standard pub grub? Possibly. But if you are in the same spot we are, stop over for a great meal!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkintilloch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Ate here on the 22nd food very nice and reasonable priced! Service was okay but there was a young man working who was exceptionally welcoming and attentive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Corner Bar and Bistro also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing