We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”
Review of Dores Inn

Dores Inn
Ranked #11 of 258 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish, Gastropub, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Our hosts at the Baladachian B&B recommended the Dores Inn for dinner, and it did not disappoint. We enjoyed local seafood, beef and beer after a day of kayaking on a windy Loch Ness.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    898
    412
    121
    36
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Magical combination of scenery, food and beer & Nessie!”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I am a regular visitor to the Dores Inn over the last 20 years, and have to say the consistency of good food, good ales and spectacular scenery, are a magical combination. The bar change their ales quite often and host local breweries from the Black Isle, Orkney, Skye and the Cairnsgorms - plus the usual assortment of "regular" lager and other beers.

The food is excellent, but book ahead if you want the avoid disappointment. I have to say that to sit our side on a summer evening or during the day and drink in the scenery, good company, food a beer takes some beating.

It a popular location, very family friendly, reasonable prices and good choice coupled with excellent service and an all year round atmosphere, equally breathtaking in Winter or Summer.

Nessie does make the occasional appearance, usually between 10.40 and 11.00 at night, often following a few ales - "Did you see that water move, I a sure it's a pair of eyes looking at me".

Definitely in my top 5 places anywhere!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LCR55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
island pecker
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A nice wee restaurant”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

A nice restaurant which was busy when we visited but managed to get served. Lovely food. This restaurant is on the shores of Loch Ness so you can also have a wee look for the monster when you go. Friendly staff and a nice atmosphere.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank firebirdmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
“The benchmark against which all other restaurants are measured”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I've been going to the Dores Inn fairly consistently for about 3 years now, usually on a Saturday morning for a cooked breakfast. I think I can safely say, with a great degree of confidence that it's one of the best you'll find in Scotland.

Evening meals are fantastic and the atmosphere is warm and rustic, the owners have done an
absolutely marvellous job with this place.

I couldn't recommend it enough

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bee-Eagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moffat, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“I will go back”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

The Dores Inn is situated on the shores of Loch Ness, it is a very busy all day Inn serving excellent food at a reasonable prices and if you are lucky with the weather the views will keep you "clicking".
As I said it is a busy place so if you want to sure of a table make sure you book. You can sit at the bar or have a top notch meal in the restaurant. It was a very wet day when we visited so I can not tell you if they serve the restaurant food outside but it was obvious that you can sit outside and watch for Nessie.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Antony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dores Inn also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Dores Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing