We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, lovely location”
Review of Dores Inn

Dores Inn
Ranked #11 of 258 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish, Gastropub, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent food, lovely location”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We enjoyed a family meal here as part of a holiday. The food we ate was of the highest quality, beautifully presented and tasted delicious. One or two slight criticisms are the drinks order wasn't listened to very well and consequently took a few minutes to correct. The chilli chocolate muses didn't have any chilli taste to it but other desserts we had were lovely. Also if you are going to offer sorbet as part of one dessert then it would also be nice to offer them separately the same as ice cream. Overall a lovely evening and we would definatey return when next in the area but hope they will have improved the toilet facilities by then.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank buzzybuzzybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    897
    412
    121
    36
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food; pricey wine”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We enjoyed the two evening meals we ate here. The pub can be very crowded and you should book a table in the dining room, if you want to be sure of being comfortable.
The garden is lovely, if you have the weather to enjoy it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GigiShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb location & Great food”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I have reviewed the Dores Inn previously - last time was about 11 months ago and they have not let there standards slip at all. The only way you will be dissapoointed here is if you turn up on a friday or saturday night and haven't booked a table. We booked ours ahead of our visit and were glad we did as they were turning people away on the night. We ate here twice on our stay, fish & chips in the bar was absolutely delicious, service in the restaurant excellent, as ever. Keep up the good work guys - we will be back .

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alex-Elise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable meal”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Table booked for 15 of us. Made very welcome. Attentive staff. Very busy restaurant for a Monday night. We didn't arrive at the same time, however we were all served drinks as we arrived. Varied choices of starters and main courses chosen and everyone enjoyed the food - ages ranging fro. 9 yrs. to 80 yrs. Would happily eat here again although I would agree that there are other restaurants with more atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tanya999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A real gem of a place”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We've eaten at the Dores Inn twice this summer and I'd go again tomorrow if we were in the vicinity. Both meals have been right up there with the best meals we've eaten in a very long time. Tucked away on the shores of Loch Ness, just a few miles from Inverness, the Dores Inn is in a lovely location. The dining room is cosy and welcoming, the staff friendly, informative and right on the ball. A great choice of locally sourced food, beautifully cooked and served reminds you of the joys of food with every mouthful. Each time we've tried different things, the menu tempts you to try new tastes and combinations and they all work. A rather nice red wine and a fine glass of ale washed it down. It was one of those meals you talk about afterwards with happy memories. You need to book most nights and it is definitely worth it. I don't understand the recent reviews, all I can say is that our experiences have been great and we will be back as often as we can. Simply great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NBSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dores Inn also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Dores Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing