We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place”
Review of Dores Inn

Dores Inn
Ranked #11 of 258 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish, Gastropub, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My partner and I visited here last week for a meal. The food is fantastic, the choice is amazing and the staff very attentive, friendly and helpful. They were great help with making a choice with such a great menu. I can recommend the smoked haddock scotch egg for starter and the pumpkin and cheese sausages. The special we had was the beetroot, chestnut and goats cheese risotto. All superb, fresh and full of flavour.
The atmosphere was lovely. so we also enjoyed a few bottles of wine which were superb and can recommend the Shiraz. All in all we had a lovely afternoon in this jewel of a place which is right on the banks of Loch Ness. You can enjoy the chance to sit outside with an amazing view too, which we did on the last visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marion R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    897
    412
    121
    36
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oldham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, cosy, clean, good ale.”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Everything was very good, the hospitality - the staff were very friendly and we didn't have to wait the beer - there was a very good choice of real ales and the food - a good selection + a specials board something for everyone.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChippyOldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This Inn is well worth a visit.”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Nice little cosy restaurant, in a beautiful, Beautifuly cooked food and excellent service,very friendly staff.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank JohnBass589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stunning location, great Food”
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Haggis nom nom nom, there's nothing better than a Autumn walk along the beach at Dores & looking out over Loch Ness then popping into Dores Inn for a local pint & some fine food. The staff are all very young & it comes across that they would prefere not to be there & come across as put out to serve you but don't be put off by this it's still a great place to meet friends, drink beer & eat great food

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely place to eat”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Nothing to dislike here, beautiful location, nice comfortable place and the food was some of the best I enjoyed in Scotland. And the beer is the best, trust there recommendations they know there stuff.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank dibengineering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dores Inn also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Dores Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing