We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality food, friendly and welcoming”
Review of Dores Inn

Dores Inn
Ranked #11 of 255 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International, Bar, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality food, friendly and welcoming”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed in Fort Augustus in October 2012, although only just over 26 miles away is nearly an hour in the car, it was so worth the journey we had two evening meals here and stopped twice at lunchtime on the way back from Inverness. Rib eye steaks were to die for although we wished we had given the starters a miss - not because they weren't delicious, just the dinner portions were generous. Scallops were cooked to perfection and the pate was equally tasty. Staff are very friendly and the service is good without being over bearing or in your face; when some beer was spilt on a menu it was whisked away and replaced with a clean one in the blink of an eye. The specials seemed to be changed on a daily basis and offered some lovely deserts, the mallow slice was yummy as was the lime cheesecake. The setting is gorgeous and dogs are welcome in the bar which is another nice feature. Prices are probably average for the area, not cheap but you get what you pay for and the quality is definitely above average, we will definitely return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex-Elise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    887
    407
    119
    34
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
90 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent, once again!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We visited midweek and it was fairly busy, as usual. I had Sirloin steak, which did not disappoint, as I had feared it couldn't be as good as last time, but it was just as good.

Other diners in my party had the gammon steaks and minute steaks which they said were easily the best they had ever eaten. We had lovely drinks such as real ale and I had a Hendrick's gin complete with cucumber slices. These touches are the attention to detail, which make such a difference.

As I think I stated in my last review though, the toilets are freezing and the entrance from the bar smells of urine. Such a letdown in contrast to the nice dining area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caithnessian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, lovely food.”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Fifteen of our family and friends gathered for Sunday lunch. We received a warm welcome, excellent service and delicious food on our trip to the Dores Inn. Well worth the run out from Inverness, it is right on the shores of Loch Ness and has a beach and tiny play ground.Just lovely!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Junior12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“"Oh dear"”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Table for two. Our visit was in the evening and the staff couldn't have been friendlier or more polite. The place is no doubt in a fantastic spot and it's second to none being so close to Inverness for a loch side view. The room was lovely and warm and there were a few diners already there. We ordered the tomato soup and two sea bream. The soup was excellent and full of vegetables and was flavoursome and tasty. The disappointment came when after taking our order the waiter returned and said that they were out of sea bream and had been since lunchtime. It's not a nice feeling when having read the menu and made an important choice - as this is what the evening is about - to then have to rechoose something from a menu that you thought you had been done with until the dessert course.

The service was good and the staff are in no way to blame but the chef should have communicated to the serving staff and been aware of the irritation it may cause. This may seem like a minor point and something very simple to address but it made our evening a 'grating' experience and I'm afraid not one to be relied on for that special occasion.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaellaCotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“top class”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Thank you to the staff for making my daughters 15th Birthday so special. Food and service top class especially when staff came out with the cake and sang happy birthday to her.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dores Inn also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Dores Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing