We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very welcome return visit”
Review of An Grianan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
An Grianan
Ranked #4 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Haslingfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very welcome return visit”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

A very enjoyable return visit to An Grianan.
Comfortable rooms, excellent food.

A plus point for An Grianan is that one bus service from the city centre stops just across the road , and another about 150m away on the level.

In short, we agree with Juliette from Maryland with her very positive comments; we shared some fascinating discussions with her and the other guests around the breakfast table.

We will be back again!!!

Liz and Martin
Cambridge UK

PS Eddie ,So glad that chocolate eclairs are now to be standard.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
telmacinverness, Owner at An Grianan, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review, we enjoyed having you guys to stay for 6 nights, lots of chat and laughter each morning is a tonic to start the day with.
Also was a great opportunity for me to practice my "gluten free" baking, have now got chocolate eclairs sorted and added to the baking menu, also meringues are now a favourite.
Delighted to know you enjoyed your second visit to us and we look forward to the third one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    38
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
256
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crofton, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Step from your car, walk through lovely landscaping into a charming home and find your host ready to meet you with a welcoming plate of pluffy, delicious meringues? This is not my usual travel experience .... would that it were ... but this was our beginning of a terrific stay in Inverness. Our only dispointment was that we hadn't allowed ourselves enough time for the city or this great B&B. Off street parking, a beautiful home and very comfortable, well appointed ensuite accommodation, a great dining room with the kind of atmosphere that welcomes guests into lively and interesting conversation around the table, cooked to order excellent breakfasts at hand ... I wouldn't trade this for The Ritz!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliette976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
telmacinverness, Owner at An Grianan, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hi Juliette,
thank you so much for your glowing review, I am very touched by your comments.
We do try to make every guest feel at home, relaxed and cared for and its so nice when people take the time to comment on their stay we really appreciate it.
As to the meringues they are now a staple on the treat menu as so many guests enjoyed them and for anyone with gluten intolerance's they are perfect, I have also made chocolate eclairs lately again gluten free, but no one noticed they were so another hit.
I remember the group of guests when you were here and all the laughter at the breakfast table, its lovely when everyone gets talking and sharing stories and enjoying the meal, thats what staying in a bed and breakfast is all about.
Hope to see you again one day if your back in the Highlands, many thanks Terri and Eddie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My partner and I have stayed at this bed and breakfast a couple of times now. The rooms are clean, comfortable and have that touch of romantic about them. It is in a perfect location for not only exploring the city of Inverness on foot, but also the gateway to the rest of the highlands. The couple that own it, Teri and Ed are the perfect hosts. It is not like a normal B and B where you just sleep and get breakfast....Teri went out of her way to make us a homemade pack lunch for our romantic trip further north and her baking is amazing. We arrived to find home baked tray bakes to take to our room with us. The breakfast is fantastic.....homemade granola that I definitely need the recipe for, and all their fruit was their own home grown. I can't recommend the scrambled eggs enough. Absolutely perfect, not like the usual slop you get from other b and b's we have stayed in. Teri and Ed, thank you so much for your warm, kind, friendly hospitality. My partner and I will definitely be back....and hopefully very soon. This place is a little gem that just feels like being at home. The perfect getaway.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gin_Nora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
telmacinverness, Owner at An Grianan, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
thank you so much for your kind comments Gillian we are delighted to welcome you to An Grianan whenever you manage to escape the capital and come north.
I have posted the recipe for the granola on our Facebook site so you can make your own and enjoy some daily. Let me know how you get on with it.
Look forward to your next visit, all the best Terri and Eddie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Datteln, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed at An Grianan for the second time after 2009 for two nights and another night after our return from the Orkney Islands. Again it was the highlight of our holiday in Scotland. We had two different rooms (the king and the double), which both were very comfortable and well decorated. The house is only a short walk away from Inverness city centre. We felt home away from home und we would recommend this B&B to all our friends and family.
Terri and her husband are very easy-going, friendly, chatty, always attentive and concerned that their guests are as comfortable as possible.
The Scottish breakfast is delicious. And even if you are off for very early start (too early for a cooked breakfast), Terri makes sure you won't starve by preparing lighter things like muesli, cake, fruit etc. for you to take with you.
We've been there twice, successfully recommended the place to a friend of ours and will definitely return when we should be travelling to Inverness again.

Room Tip: We don't know about the twin room, but both, the king and the double room are worth staying in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uquill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

This b&b is just a 10 minute walk away from town. The rooms are beautiful. Everyone was very friendlly with our 2 month old son. We even were left a dram in the room before bed! The typical Scottish breakfast in the morning will send you off for a good day.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FOODIE_JOJO_54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We booked 2 rooms at An Grianan in late August. The property is very charming. A quiet, residential location within a few minutes walk to downtown Inverness. Terri was informative and very courteous. We only were booked for one night but would have been lovely to stay a few more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Alice was delighted with the decor and Colin appreciated the creature comforts of this well appointed and charming B & B. Then we found that our hosts were friendly delightful people and this made the total package for us. Only spent two nights there but we thoroughly enjoyed the time!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
telmacinverness, Owner at An Grianan, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
So glad you liked your visit and enjoyed the home comforts and decor, we aim for a relaxed but comfortable atmosphere, glad you appreciated it. We enjoyed looking after you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
1,785 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,677 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ness Guest House
The Ness Guest House
#6 of 231 in Inverness
360 reviews
0.9 mi away
St Ann's House
St Ann's House
#5 of 231 in Inverness
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Grianan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Grianan

Property: An Grianan
Address: 11 Crown Drive, Inverness IV2 3NN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — An Grianan 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Grianan is an edwardian villa retaining many original features enhanced by modern amenities in all rooms, we are situated 5 mins walk from the centre of Inverness and the rail and bus stations,in the Crown conservation area.Relax in large spacious en suite rooms, each room having a LCD Flat Screen TV with Freeview digital channels.We have free wireless internet access throughout the house if you have a wireless enabled laptop.Enjoy tea, coffee and lovely home baking in your room daily.Loch Ness is about 15 mins drive, with Culloden battlefield approximately 10 mins drive, Eden Court Theatre is 15 mins walk along the riverside and all shops, restaurants and pubs are only 5 mins walk away.We aim to offer a relaxed comfortable stay, the perfect place to return to after a days exploring the Highlanfs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your An Grianan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An Grianan Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing