We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Among the best B&Bs in Scotland”
Review of An Grianan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
An Grianan
Ranked #5 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed at An Grianan for the second time after 2009 for two nights and another night after our return from the Orkney Islands. Again it was the highlight of our holiday in Scotland. We had two different rooms (the king and the double), which both were very comfortable and well decorated. The house is only a short walk away from Inverness city centre. We felt home away from home und we would recommend this B&B to all our friends and family.
Terri and her husband are very easy-going, friendly, chatty, always attentive and concerned that their guests are as comfortable as possible.
The Scottish breakfast is delicious. And even if you are off for very early start (too early for a cooked breakfast), Terri makes sure you won't starve by preparing lighter things like muesli, cake, fruit etc. for you to take with you.
We've been there twice, successfully recommended the place to a friend of ours and will definitely return when we should be travelling to Inverness again.

Room Tip: We don't know about the twin room, but both, the king and the double room are worth staying in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uquill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 453 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

This b&b is just a 10 minute walk away from town. The rooms are beautiful. Everyone was very friendlly with our 2 month old son. We even were left a dram in the room before bed! The typical Scottish breakfast in the morning will send you off for a good day.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FOODIE_JOJO_54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We booked 2 rooms at An Grianan in late August. The property is very charming. A quiet, residential location within a few minutes walk to downtown Inverness. Terri was informative and very courteous. We only were booked for one night but would have been lovely to stay a few more.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveler779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Alice was delighted with the decor and Colin appreciated the creature comforts of this well appointed and charming B & B. Then we found that our hosts were friendly delightful people and this made the total package for us. Only spent two nights there but we thoroughly enjoyed the time!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
telmacinverness, Owner at An Grianan, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

So glad you liked your visit and enjoyed the home comforts and decor, we aim for a relaxed but comfortable atmosphere, glad you appreciated it. We enjoyed looking after you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Best B&B I've stayed in: great location, lovely spacious room, homey feel, outstanding hosts. I cannot say enough great things about this place or the hosts. During my stay, I ended up getting a flat tire, and the hosts came to my rescue - took time out of their day to help me, made calls to roadside assistance (next time, I will purchase a phone!) and at the end of the day, kept me company with wine and food. clearly, they went above and beyond just being a B&B and I am forever grateful. I would recommend this B&B to any one going to Inverness. I hope to return and stay again...just a wonderful place with amazing hosts!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
telmacinverness, Owner at An Grianan, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

What a weekend you had Julianne, Im glad to know that we helped keep it on track to be a memorable weekend, we will certainly remember your stay, we were only too glad to help out when you were so let down by the car hire company.
with a little help, something to eat and a few glasses of wine even the worst day can be turned around into a memorable time.......................and I think thats what we all achieved.
Come back and visit some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is by far the best B&B we ever stayed at - and we had time to enjoy it for six nights! Friendly people, fabulous rooms, good breakfast, quiet but close to the centre - and, of course, Terri's famous cakes! Many thanks again to our hosts who made it such a relaxing stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
telmacinverness, Owner at An Grianan, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review us, it was a pleasure to have you guys stay, its so nice to have guests for a long period as it gives us more time to get to know all about you and your home country and an opportunity to make your stay as individual as possible.
We do aim for a relaxed atmosphere and anything we can provide to aid this we are happy to do so, glad you enjoyed the baking it was a challenge to do something different over 6 days but I think we managed it . Look forward to your return visit one day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Liked the house very much and the room was spacious and light. The home-made cakes we had on arrival were perfect and much appreciated. Terri was an excellent hostess and the breakfast was very good indeed. Enjoyed and appreciated the glass of sherry!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1.
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Elinor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
telmacinverness, Owner at An Grianan, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you Elinor for your positive review, good to know the breakfast was appreciated and that you were comfortable in your room, also a little glass of sherry aids sleep I think. Look forward to welcoming you back one day to An Grianan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#7 of 36 in Inverness
1,848 reviews
0 mi away
Inverglen Guest House
Inverglen Guest House
#2 of 232 in Inverness
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Ness Guest House
The Ness Guest House
#6 of 232 in Inverness
383 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dunhallin House
Dunhallin House
#9 of 232 in Inverness
394 reviews
0.9 mi away
St Ann's House
St Ann's House
#10 of 232 in Inverness
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Grianan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Grianan

Address: 11 Crown Drive, Inverness IV2 3NN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: $97 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — An Grianan 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Grianan is an edwardian villa retaining many original features enhanced by modern amenities in all rooms, we are situated 5 mins walk from the centre of Inverness and the rail and bus stations,in the Crown conservation area.Relax in large spacious en suite rooms, each room having a LCD Flat Screen TV with Freeview digital channels.We have free wireless internet access throughout the house if you have a wireless enabled laptop.Enjoy tea, coffee and lovely home baking in your room daily.Loch Ness is about 15 mins drive, with Culloden battlefield approximately 10 mins drive, Eden Court Theatre is 15 mins walk along the riverside and all shops, restaurants and pubs are only 5 mins walk away.We aim to offer a relaxed comfortable stay, the perfect place to return to after a days exploring the Highlanfs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your An Grianan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An Grianan Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing