We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutly Lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Redcliffe Hotel

Redcliffe Hotel
Ranked #127 of 252 Restaurants in Inverness
Cuisines: British, European, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutly Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

came here with my mother in law an early treat for mothers day, and it was fantastic!!
service by two girls was welcoming and good knowledge about menu made our choice much easier. we opted for the high tea menu and had the Haddock and the Vegetarian tart service was quick and attentive and food was cooked and presented beautifully. the high tea cakes and scones were lovely again good knowledge from serving staff to what we had and al of it was homemade and the fudge is to die for!!

all in all lovely meal will defiantly be back thanks

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mhairi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    29
    8
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Enjoyed an evening with friends ...nice atmosphere ..excellent service at tables and bar but food very disappointing.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Comment about the restaurant - I was so disappointed I sent this to the hotel that night via their website - and did not get any reply. This says a lot!! I wanted to give them a chance to reply but am now reporting here.

Following a ladies lunch a couple of months ago when everybody was very impressed by the food, I suggested to my friend that we come to the Redcliffe for an early evening meal. We looked at the menu on the website and decided that the high tea might be better for us. We were very disappointed on several counts. Firstly it was a "Christmas High Tea" on the menu produced, with an inflated price, but we were told that the scones etc were not available. We were told by the girl at the desk that we could have the high tea but with "Christmas tray bakes and shortbread" - which we agreed to. We were happy with the main course (Haddock and Chips) - but certainly not impressed by the plate which was served with a few tasteless biscuits out of a box. (The fudge was beautiful) What happened to the "Christmas tray bakes and shortbread"? We assumed that since we did not get the High Tea with the Scones and clotted cream etc that we would not be charged the full Christmas High Tea price of £14.95 - certainly not for what we were served - but to our surprise we were indeed charged that! A bit overpriced for fish and chips and a cup of coffee with a piece of fudge! The menu that was produced is not even on the website so we were not expecting that inflated price - but £12.95 for a High Tea. Suffice it to say that we will not be back! Very disappointed indeed. There was only one other diner - I wonder why????

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“50th Birthday meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Had a cracking night at the Redcliffe for my sisters 50th birthday celebration on Dec 28th. Excellent meal with plenty of choice, and reasonably priced. 17 of us at the table and the staff coped without a hitch. There was another 50th celebration going on at the same time which added to the occasion and given the numbers involved the staff must have been well prepared by the management. The lemon cheesecake could have done with a little more zest but was still very tasty. Well worth a visit.
Well done to the Derek and his team.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Campbeg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great food in nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Really enjoyed eating here in quiet and relaxing atmosphere . Food was very good, well priced and was served very good, friendly and staff. Will definitely visit again if in Inverness.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Redcliffe Hotel also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Redcliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing