We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent medium sized B & B in a good position.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whin Park Guest House
Ranked #184 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 4, 2010

I had a good week at the Whinpark, being based in Inverness but travelling around mainly by train. Inverness is an excellent base to reach numerous other places; I visited Aberdeen, Kyle of Lochalsh and Wick all by train, and Loch Ness by boat. Iqbal runs the hotel well and the staff are all great. Breakfasts are superb.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boltonian45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 64 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2010

I stayed at the Whin Park Guest House for two nights in July 2010 with my 2 sons aged 16 & 13. we stayed in a 3 bed room which was reasonably priced & included a full breakfast. The en suite room was furnished in a very comfortable old fashioned style & spotlessly clean. The staff were polite & friendly. Everything about the hotel was spot on. I was led to believe that the hotel has a private car park but we didn't see the need for that as the on street parking outside was good enough. The Whin Park is situated on a wide street in one of the better parts of Inverness, most of the neighbouring buildings seemed to be either similar guest houses or solicitors offices. At the top end of Ardross St you will find the beautiful Inverness Cathedral & pleasant walks along the river Ness. The town centre with the usual array of shops & pubs is a 10 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xdanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

The location to City Center is great. Restaurants and shopping is a short walk. You can even walk to Bus and Train station.
The decor in our room was dated. The room for 3 was VERY small. We had little room to manage our clothing and belongings. The bath was in-suite but small. The fan in the bath didn't work so our room would get steamy and stuffy. The drain in the shower was very slow. The toilet paper was like sandpaper. The wireless internet was not strong enough to check email and research visitor sites in our room. You could do it in the dining room.
Breakfast was OK. The scrambled eggs tasted like powdered eggs so be sure to order a fried or poached egg to get the real thing. Breakfast was not relaxing, we felt rushed to order our food, eat and get out. The coffee was not very good, drip coffee was served.
The host was friendly and helpful when we needed it. The food choices were good.
We were close to the city center and the River ness. There is a nice path along the river to walk or run. Nice choices for food along the River as well.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Outsidegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

On arrival we parked in the road at the front of the house after not being able to find the onsite parking. When we enquired about the onsite parking we were told there is non although the sign outside stated that there is onsite parking and also on the internet booking site which is the reason why we booked at Whinpark. When we arrived into the room the decor was very dated but when we looked out the window the private on site parking was there, locked up and empty, well apart from a washing line. There is enough space for atleast 6 cars. so felt cheated as we were lied to. The light had a bulb missing, the bathroom door handle didnt work right and so sometime resulted in getting locked in the bathroom, the radiator was rusty and the filter was filthy.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrandMrsConnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

lovely rooms, clean with enough space.Bathroom was adequate but had trouble getting the water to the correct temp.relief lady hostess was very friendly and presented a wonderful breakfast for us all.nothing was too much trouble and both her and her husband were friendly and welcoming.B&B is in a great spot to wander around Inverness but there is limited on street parking so if you have a car be mindful that you need to be early to get a spot.did not see any private parking that was advertised on website but car was safe just outside B&B..also, think twice about taking all your luggage as we had a number of flights of stairs to cart our bags up and down

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

What can you say bout the Whinpark, well the rooms are comfy clean and well presented, The staff are more than welcoming and the breakfast is lovely too. i have saty quite a few times with my work and have aways been made welcome and am on first name basis with the owners. Without a shodow of a doubt i would recommend this B&B to anyone who want a nice place to stay, affordable and welcoming and friendly staff

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamR82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2009

Affordable, with a pleasant room within walking distance to everything this charming city has to offer. The staff were helpful without being intrusive. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amglarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.3 mi away
Beaufort Hotel
Beaufort Hotel
#22 of 36 in Inverness
502 reviews
0.4 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#21 of 36 in Inverness
1,303 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Ardross and Glencairn Guesthouse
9.8 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Ardersier
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whin Park Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whin Park Guest House

Address: 17 Ardross Street, Inverness IV3 5NS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: $60 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Whin Park Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Whin Park Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whin Park Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing