We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boat trip.”

Loch Ness by Jacobite
Book In Advance
More Info
$47.83*
and up
Loch Ness Cruise Including Urquhart Castle and Loch Ness Centre and Exhibition
More Info
$38.27*
and up
Loch Ness Sightseeing Cruise Including Urquhart Castle
More Info
$30.07*
and up
Loch Ness Sightseeing Cruise and Visit to Urquhart Castle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Water doesn't get much more mysterious than this 23 mile stretch running through the Great Glen in the Highlands of Scotland.There's no better way to experience Loch Ness than by boat. Jacobite's award winning tours and cruises get you onto the water and into the heart of this iconic landscape. This is a whole lot more than simply sight-seeing. We've been running trips on and around Loch Ness for over 30 years and most of us live here.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We just did the round boat trip which takes about an hour. Party of 5 including elderly and teen and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. Lovely scenery, loitered around Urquart castle so we could take pics. Bit chilly for me updeck.

Thank TowniesLeedsLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredaNewton, Owner at Loch Ness by Jacobite, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Reviewer, thank you for your feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your trip with us, despite the rather breezy conditions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,402)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,642 - 1,646 of 2,420 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

a great way to see loch ness and all that is in it!! The best way to view the great glen gem. See Urquhart Castle from a different perspective and avoid the busy A82 in doing so.
The staff are first class and offer a good service

Thank alimac54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredaNewton, Owner at Loch Ness by Jacobite, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Reviewer, the team at Jacobite are delighted you enjoyed your trip with us, thank you for such wonderful feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I went on a two hour cruise with an hour stop off at Urquhart Castle. En route I was advised to go to the visitor centre first. This turned out to be a mistake for me. It is full of the usual tourist tat and as a result I missed out on the historical stuff and a look round the ruins, which I was more interested in.

Overall however, I would totally recommend this cruise - just prioritise how you want to spend your time once you land at Urquhart Castle as you can't fit everything in to the time you have there.

Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredaNewton, Owner at Loch Ness by Jacobite, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Reviewer, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we constantly try to improve our service based on our customers comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I am not a tour person, but not wanting to drive in Scotland chose this tour based on favorable reviews. Booked the Passion tour. From pick-up to drop-off, there were no disappointments. Kenny, our driver, was both personally likeable and thoroughly knowledgeable. The Loch Ness interpretive center was scientific and not myth promoting. Urqhart Castle was an enjoyable ruins to explore and the two hours allotted was plenty. The boat trip back through the loch and the Caledonian Canal was a beautiful end to a fully loaded day...the wifi on the boat was an added surprise. I definitely recommend this tour company.

Thank DAMason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredaNewton, Owner at Loch Ness by Jacobite, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Reviewer, thank you for taking the time to give us such wonderful feedback. The Passion is a full day's experience with much variety, we're delighted you enjoyed your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We took the Temptation tour and both of us thoroughly enjoyed it. It included a 1 hr guided coach tour of Inverness, a 30 mins splashy cruise, 1 hr at the enigmatic and historic Urquhart castle and then back to city centre of Inverness. The cruise was the highlight as the loch was a bit rough...lots of ups and downs and splashes.....we enjoyed every bit of it.... sadly, Nessie decided to remain shy....

Thank SouravBanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredaNewton, Owner at Loch Ness by Jacobite, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Reviewer, we're delighted you enjoyed the Temptation tour and the cruise even though it was rather choppy. It's a pity Nessie was rather bashful on the day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Ness by Jacobite also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Loch Ness by Jacobite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing