We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect tour”

Loch Ness by Jacobite
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.32*
and up
Loch Ness Cruise Including Urquhart Castle and Loch Ness Centre and Exhibition
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Water doesn't get much more mysterious than this 23 mile stretch running through the Great Glen in the Highlands of Scotland.There's no better way to experience Loch Ness than by boat. Jacobite's award winning tours and cruises get you onto the water and into the heart of this iconic landscape. This is a whole lot more than simply sight-seeing. We've been running trips on and around Loch Ness for over 30 years and most of us live here.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect tour”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

April 29th 2013, I took the Passions Cruise / Castle tour. Our tour guide Alison was wonderful. There were 3 people on this tour so Alison was able to talk with us and we could ask questions. I could not praise this company enough. We viewed the Corrminy Cairns and Alison gave us a bit of history of the cairns. She did warn us not to take stones because they are cursed. We then toured the Castle for 2 hours and then took the cruise up to the locks.The staff was so nice. The tour was 6.5 hours but it was not long enough.. I had so much fun the time flew by. I would recommend this tour company and expecially this tour. Thank you Alison / Jacobite Tours for making our trip to Scotland memorable. I will be back in 5 years with the family and I will be booking this tour, again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank renaandamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacobitecruises, Manager at Loch Ness by Jacobite, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We are so pleased we made your trip to Scotland memorable and Alison will be delighted to hear your great comments. Thank you for a great review, we are delighted you enjoyed it.
with best wishes
the Jacobite team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,051 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,311
    579
    112
    38
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pa.
Level Contributor
162 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Get less than you bargained!”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Sign up leave the dock and everything is perfect. Great boat, clean and informative.
Then half way through they put 65 more people on the boat.
The diagram of where you go shows you go down one side then on the way back down the other side.
Would not that have been great for pictures, in the deepest lock in Scotland.
Well no such luck down the middle load up the boat as full as possible.
Down the middle.
Not a way to run a business!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank pennwoodpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacobitecruises, Manager at Loch Ness by Jacobite, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
We are sorry that you only enjoyed half your trip. We think that the middle of the Loch is where you get the most stunning views. It is also very hard to depict visually what a round trip is on a small map so we are sorry if we mislead you, that was not the intention…
We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip to the Highlands
with best wishes
the Jacobite team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“3 hour cruise from inverness”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

worth the time to do even for those that don't like ships/boats, no rocking at all
had issues finding it, needs more 'brown' tourist signs to find it
seats were ok but could be a bit more comfortable. I would do it again

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank suffern1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacobitecruises, Manager at Loch Ness by Jacobite, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
We totally agree with you – we would love to have brown tourist signs at every roundabout in Inverness (and there are many) pointing the way to Jacobite but unfortunately the authorities disagree – even to the point that the postcode for the Clansman Harbour sends hundreds of Tourists every year in the wrong direction!
Thank you for your review
the Jacobite team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great way to spend an afternoon”
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We did the reflection 3 hour cruise. Fabulous, going along the Caledonian canal and through the lock and then the vastness of Loch Ness. Perfect. We stayed on the outer deck going and retired indoors on the way back to have a wee dram. The staff were lovely and took time to chat. The views were stunning and it was great ti take a trip on a boat we remembered from our childhood when she was the Tyneside queen. Well worth doing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank carol and mick g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacobitecruises, Manager at Loch Ness by Jacobite, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
It's lovely to hear from someone who remembers the Jacobite Queen as the Tyneside Queen. We hope she brought back happy memories. Thanks for sharing with us and for leaving a lovely review.
with best wishes
the Jacobite team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Sit back, relax and enjoy the views”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We arrived and parked at the clansman hotel and we got to speaking to the doorman who was very friendly and helpful as we had a dog and he explained a walk to the right of the hotel that takes you up the hill to see the stunning scenery. We then went down to the jetty to board the boat. We could only do the hour trip as urquhart castle do not allow dogs. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. We boarded the boat and at the rear their is a large glassed area with seating for the best views of the loch and surrounding hills. After departing we slowly made our way to urquhart castle. The boat has two levels the lower deck with seating and a small bar with large glass windows. The upper deck is open and also has seating. Managed to get some great landscape photos of loch ness and urquhart castle as the boat pulled in to the jetty to drop of and pick up passengers. It was then a return trip to the clansman hotel. This trip takes about a hour and it a great way to see loch ness and urquhart castle. The cost of the trip was £13 each and well worth it. Dogs go free.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacobitecruises, Manager at Loch Ness by Jacobite, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for a great review. Views from the boat are amazing and you can get some wonderful photos when out on Loch Ness. We are pleased you enjoyed your trip.
with best wishes
the Jacobite team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Ness by Jacobite also viewed

Fort Augustus, Loch Ness
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness
Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness
 

Been to Loch Ness by Jacobite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing