We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond a joke”
Review of City Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
City Hostel
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The reception staff are abrupt and rude. Though I was told my card had been declined actually the card machine didn't work. The lock on the door to the bedroom didn't catch. The room was rammed with cheap bunk beds and an extra mattress on the floor for good measure. The duvet and pillows stank. Loud music and voices hammered through a thin wall. I was charged £2 for towel hire, and £2,50 for laundry and then told to do it myself but that I couldn't use it till after 9pm. When I did finally get to use it, the machine broke leaving my things floating about in filthy water. When I told the receptionist he looked at me as if I was stupid and said, "Just ring it out, it's washed isn't it?" (It should be noted he was in charge of doing the hostels washing). All the computers were broken. There was no hot water for a shower in the morning. The large, filth common room was completely miserable.

Arguably this place is in the so bad it's good category of thing. If you're like the masochist Bill Murray plays in Little Shop of Horrors, and deliberately want to stay in the worst Hostel ever then this place is quite entertaining.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 121 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

Arriving in Inverness, I found all B&Bs seemed to be fully booked, so I went to this hostel. There were beds available, so I booked 2 nights @ £20 per night. I was handed a bundle of linen to make my bed and told which room I was in and the combination of the lock on the door (I didn't need it, as the door opened if you just pushed it). The room contained 5 or 6 bunk beds with rather worn mattresses and duvets.
Of the 3 washrooms on the floor, the taps produced only cold water, only one had a sink plug, in another the shower fitting was broken and in the third the toilet had its seat and lid broken off. Worst of all, there was no toilet paper! (There was in one on the second evening, but it was soon used up. Fortunately I had my own, being prepared for camping.) I had to pay an extra £2 for hire of a towel and £2 for breakfast. I had to move rooms for the second night. Both rooms were of mixed sexes.
The large common room was fairly conducive to social activity, with 2 pool tables and a selection of board games and books. There were kitchen facilities to store and prepare your own food. The staff were adequately helpful.
I suppose the hostel's best feature is its centrality, being close to the bus and rail stations, tourist information centre, shops, etc. Try to avoid this place if possible, but if you must go there, be sure to take your own loo roll!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roderick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I was taking a group of foreign tourists around Scotland, and wanted cheap accommodation whilst they stayed in a local B'n'B (very good). This place was rubbish. Really.

I booked a place in a 3-person dorm via hostelbookers about five days before I turned up. When I got there:
- we have no notice of your stay.
- 'Can you show a print off?' I said I didn't have one. So they said go online and show the booking (fair enough). After 5 minutes of trying to get online while they dealt with another person I said I couldn't get online. They then gave me another internet connection and told the next guest their internet was off.
- I showed them the booking. They said they had no space there. Not even that they had given it away by mistake; they had no space and i could take a place left in the 8-bed dorm. I saved 2 pounds. Wooh.
- I went up and there was no pillow. i came back down and told them. After a sarcastic joke that they didn't have pillows they sighed and went to get one.
- It is right above a karaoke bar. Great.

I had no problem with the guests, but The Highlander Hostel is a perfect example of how the word 'backpacker' is used by hostels that don't care. As a Scottish person I felt it was a miserable example of accommodation in my own country.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djwills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We are working up here and they had sent us to this hostel for 2 nights whilst our original hotel was fully booked. As soon as we walked into our bedroom it was a disgrace there was peoples socks left over in the bathroom, blood on the bed frames, bed's was full of stains, shower was disgusting. The 5 of us walked out and went to find anoyher b and b out of our own cost because it was that bad. Dont stay here its cleaner on the streets!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phillip l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hostel was the worst smelling place I have ever stayed. The uncleanliness is what struck me first. I stayed at the hostel with my husband, teenage daughter and her friend. When we arrived we were given a room with a bunk and two single beds. There were two rotten looking matters on the floor with holes. The stench in the room was unbearable and the windows would not open. There were work materials and discarded items on the upper wall. We decided to go to lunch and upon returning found two more mouldy mattresses in our room! We had booked two nights but decided to leave the next morning immediately. There were two girls cutting their hair in the bathroom sink and a man using drugs outside. Our room was previously used as a movie room. There are NO REFUNDS so be careful.

Room Tip: Ask to look at rooms before deciding to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DelorisG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Do not ever book at the Highlander Hostel. It was dirty (window, floor, toilets) and smelted badly, each floor of the toilets was totally wet like after a flood. There was no toilet paper in any of them. No waste bin in the dorm. the bed linen are old, very used and should have been replaced for a long time. I hardly met backpackers there, I think most of the guest try to settle down in UK. I totally agree with all of the negative ratings. I payed 20£ a night which was not worth it at all and there is the policy that you do not get any refunds. The best thing is: Just 1 min away, there is the visitor centre who helps you to find a new accommodation.

Room Tip: Do not book there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dun_bern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

when i phoned to book a room they took my payment that night - when i got my statement through i saw that they charged me when i checked in as well. i emailed them and was told they would investigate and get back to me which they never did! they are rude lying people and i would advise avoiding this place - unless you want to be charged twice with no reason!

the place was greasy, filthy and just horrible. you have to make your own beds and dont even bother using the filthy toilets let alone the showers.

horrible place and horrible SCAMMING people!

definitely use the other hostel because it is far nicer.

Room Tip: go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alison_brinkler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Inverness Student Hotel
Inverness Student Hotel
#22 of 53 in Inverness
168 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inverness Youth Hostel
Inverness Youth Hostel
#14 of 53 in Inverness
167 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
9.5 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Ardersier
296 reviews
10 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hostel

Address: 23A High Street, Inverness IV1 1HY, Scotland (Formerly Highlander Hostel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Inverness
Price Range: $20 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your City Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hostel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing