We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The kilt at breakfast made the trip for us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Silverstrands Guest House
Ranked #25 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Silverstrands was recommended by another Guesthouse in town and my 11 year-old daughter and I weren't disappointed. A lovely house, in a great area, minutes away from the centre of town.

Kenny features heavily in all the reviews and I wouldn’t disagree. A great host who made our night in Inverness a genuine pleasure.

Enjoy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverstrands, Manager at Silverstrands Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

hi Jason
just wanted to say thanks for the kind review

regards

kenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 278 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

Kenny, the host, makes Silverstrands a nice place to stay, he is jovial and will help you in any way possible. This is a very small b&b in a great location, just a short 5 minute walk into city centre. The house is immaculate and squeaky clean with very comfy beds. The breakfasts are cooked to order and are lovely. The rooms are very tiny and are kept quite warm at nite and the windows only open a sliver, so it's hard to maintain a comfortable nighttime temperature. If you like to hang out at your hotel this is not the place for you as there is no common area such as a living room or den, so your room is the only option.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Everything you could want from a b&b. The rooms are excellent, the food is great, and there's lots of it, and Kenny is a great host, -even when presented with 2 non English speaking Japanese tourists!!!! If you don't usually eat much for breakfast then make sure you ask for a small portion, as they can be on the large size, well for me anyway, however my husband thought it was wonderful. You cook your own toast so there's no waste, - how many slices of uneaten toast have you seen being taken back into the kitchen?? There is so much to choice of food that no-one would walk away hungry. There is also a vast choice of teas, herbal and fruit. Kenny serves breakfast wearing traditional scottish dress....a kilt. The rooms are really comfortable and great care has been taken to get everything just right. We could find no faults at all with this b&b and will definately be using again. Thanks Kenny for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverstrands, Owner at Silverstrands Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

hi chris

I have just read your review
thank you very much
really appreciate you taking the time
and your comments were much appreciated

hope to see you again at some point in the future

look after yourselves

kenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were only able to stay one night in Inverness, and luckily it was at Silverstrands. Kenny gave us good advice on dinner; we were able to walk around downtown (but driving and parking were also easy); easy to find and a lovely stay overall. Comfy room, great breakfast, good advice, and a host sporting a kilt--what more could you want?

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverstrands, Manager at Silverstrands Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

thanks very much you are very kind

all the best kenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at the end of the Great Glen Way, getting taxi back to Blackfold to finish our last days walk to Inverness.. Lovely rooms, lovely bathrooms, fantastic breakfast. Great idea of making your own tea and toast. Easy walk to the town centre. Great having a fridge in the room especially with the hot weather we had.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverstrands, Manager at Silverstrands Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

hi Sandra

thank you very much for your kind review
really appreciate you taking the time and trouble
'keep on walking'

all the best kenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Hard to describe how great Silverstrands Guest House is. Excellent breakfast, quality rooms and Kenny you are the Man =) Only few minutes walk to train station or bus station. We definitely come to see you again. Kiitos

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19Mika70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverstrands, Manager at Silverstrands Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

kiitos

kemmy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Kenny is a fun host, with a big smile and answers to all your questions. The B&B is clean & well located. The breakfast is generous, keeps you going for many hours. Street parking is easy to find. The city centre is a short walk away. Prices are very reasonable.

One of the rooms is tinier than others, try to avoid it!

Room Tip: Room no 6 is small, try to get one of the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhavna0802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverstrands, Owner at Silverstrands Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

hi guys

thanks for the review
really appreciate you taking the time and I hope the rest of your vacation was a memorable one

take care

kenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.0 mi away
Avalon Guest House
Avalon Guest House
#22 of 232 in Inverness
796 reviews
0.3 mi away
An Grianan
An Grianan
#5 of 232 in Inverness
449 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
#19 of 232 in Inverness
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Gun Lodge Hotel
The Gun Lodge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ardersier
238 reviews
9.3 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Ardersier
293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dionard Guest House
Dionard Guest House
#7 of 232 in Inverness
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverstrands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverstrands Guest House

Address: 7 Broadstone Avenue, Inverness IV2 3LE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: $92 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silverstrands Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modernized guest house is only a 10 -minute walk to the city center. We are located close to rail and bus terminals. Most rooms are en suite, free wi fi, flat-screen tv, family room and parking rates. Ideal for both business and vacation travelers.All rooms en suite, twin,double,single ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Silverstrands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverstrands Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing