We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to beat!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eiland View Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #93 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
West Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Hard to beat!”
Reviewed August 27, 2011

I stayed at Eiland View about nine or ten years previously, and so often one is disappointed going back somewhere a second time. But not in this case!

I can on only mirror what others have said (apart from it being cold - our room was more than adequately heated).

Mrs Eileen McLean tries very hard to ensure that her guests are as comfortable as possible, and she succeeds!

The accommodation is quiet, the views are beautiful, the breakfast hearty, and the room and bed comfortable - what else does one need?

We will be visiting again, I have no doubt, and we look forward to it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul_East_Wittering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
20
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duncan, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We stopped at this B&B, having spent the previous night at the hostess' sister's B&B in Ft Augustus. The view is gorgeous, the home--built specifically for a B&B--is beautiful The room was very large and it and bathroom were spotlessly clean, beautiful decorated and extremely comfortable. The hostess spent a great deal of time trying to help us find 'just the right place to see and go'. The breakfast was delightful with freshly baked breads. Would recommend it highly if you are looking for a quiet, peaceful, comfortable place to stay in this area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Offtoseethewizard60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, Norfolk, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

We were warmly welcomed and shown our tastefully decorated room and the comfortable guests lounge with stunning views of the Moray Firth.
Our room was spacious although the en suite shower room was rather small. It was at the side of the house but still had beautiful views.
The breakfast choice was good, including all the ingredients of a full Scottish breakfast but you could choose a continental style breakfast as well.
It was well placed to explore Inverness and places in the highland area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brandhamj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orkney, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2010

We stayed one night on our way home from a business trip and we had booked the room a week in advance. It had been snowing and although the house was warm our room was freezing - thank goodness for the electric blanket. There wasn't a hair dryer in the room which we thought was strange for a 4 star. The ensuite shower room had no heating so it too was freezing and we couldn't get any hot water from the shower in the morning. The hostess was polite enough and the breakfast was fine. The house was large and looked very nice with good views but I think we'd only stop there again in the Summer months!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liatnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2009

I live in B&B's for months at a time as I guide folks on tours of the UK and Ireland. I know a good B&B when I see one and this is a great B&B. I bless the day I found it. My guests love Eiland View. They vote it best in Scotland year after year. The rooms are so big and the beds so comfortable. The showers have plenty of power and hot water and the towels are fluffy. The place is spotlessly clean and beautifully appointed and you will find everything you need in your room. There is a great guest lounge with terrific views across the Moray Firth. Eilean MacLean is the lovely hostess and she does a great job creating a pleasant atmosphere and in the morning turning out wonderful breakfasts. There is plenty of comfort at Eiland View and in the back there is a spacious garden where guests can enjoy a quiet view of the Moray Firth Bridge with Black Isle beyond.
Eiland View is in a great location near Culloden Battlefield, Cawdor Castle, Clava Cairns, Fort George, the city of Inverness and Inverness International Airport. You can easily get to the Carngorm Mountains, Lock Ness, Urquart Castle, Black Isle and beyond from Eiland View. There is plenty of good free parking as well. This is the well run business of a generous hostess who thought a lot about YOU when this accommodation was purposely built.
You will need reservations as Eiland View is very popular. I think you will find the price is very reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missbean2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2008

Stayed for one night during our travels, my husband and I stayed in a room with a queen bed, my mother was in a room with two single beds, we paid 56 pound sterling for each room. The rooms are on the larger size, heaters in room and all have private bathrooms and large windows. We were offered a wide selection of items for cooked breakfast in addition to toast, cerials, fruit, juice, coffee, tea.
The rooms are attached to the innkeepers private side of the house through the hallway. She has kids but we were not bothered by any noise at all, my mother even enjoyed visiting with the youngest child who was maybe 3 or 4 yrs old? The view overlooks the distant hills, water, and town. Overall we enjoyed our brief stay and would not hesitate recommending this to anyone.

  • Liked — large rooms, excellent breakfast selection
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Melly_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
554 reviews
1.4 mi away
Smithton Hotel
Smithton Hotel
#31 of 34 in Inverness
112 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Inverness
Travelodge Inverness
#25 of 34 in Inverness
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Moray Park
Moray Park
#98 of 231 in Inverness
75 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Gun Lodge Hotel
The Gun Lodge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ardersier
225 reviews
2.4 mi away
Leanach Farm
Leanach Farm
#124 of 231 in Inverness
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eiland View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eiland View Bed & Breakfast

Property: Eiland View Bed & Breakfast
Address: Woodside of Culloden | Near Inverness and Culloden, Inverness IV2 5BP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Eiland View Bed & Breakfast Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing