We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Craigside Lodge Guesthouse
Ranked #35 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Amy and Ewan are lovely people and clearly put a lot of effort into providing visitors with a thoroughly fantastic visit. It was obvious that a considerable amount of thought has gone into setting up the guesthouse and that the emphasis is very much on quality and comfort at an extremely competitive price.

The house is easy walking distance from the station/town centre. The room was incredibly clean, a good size and had a beautiful view. Pretty much everything about this place was spot on. I could spend all day listing out all of the things that impressed me, needless to say that I honestly cannot identify a single thing they could do to improve.

I am rather difficult to please and can honestly say that the Craigside Lodge is about as close to perfect as anywhere I've stayed. We slept very peacefully and woke up to a gorgeous breakfast (great coffee!) and were sad to leave when our taxi (that Amy very kindly arranged for us) arrived to take us to the airport (a short drive).

If they have space just book yourself in - don't bother looking for anywhere else! :-)

Room Tip: Room number 1 has a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken_Justice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    38
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
44
125
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Ewan and Amy MacDonald have a winner in the The Craigside Lodge Guesthouse in Inverness. They purchased the property to run it as a B&B, and chose an excellent location. The back of the house overlooks the castle grounds. It's right up the street from a very nice pub, the Castle View. It's a very short walk to the center city. Ewan and Amy are one of the sweetest couples you'll ever meet. It was Amy's dream to open a B&B, and she is continuing to work diligently, despite being due soon with their first child. She does the cooking and her breakfasts are great. Ewan is a world champion curler (he even has his own Wikipedia entry!), and despite working as an insurance executive is there to help with the breakfast chores and chat it up with the guests. I stayed here 2 nights during a bicycling trip of Scotland and England. I would love to come back to Inverness and spend more time exploring the immediate area, and I would not hesitate to stay at Craigside Lodge Guesthouse again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tooths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Absolutely lovely guesthouse with an unexpectedly amazing view of the city. There is a sunroom on the lower floor that is really cozy with great views of the city. Good breakfast in a nice breakfast room that also has view. Amy and Ewan were super friendly and welcoming. The room was very nice and roomy with a large en-suite bathroom. Great location near downtown.

Room Tip: If you can get a room on an upper floor overlooking the city, it's probable worthwhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notallwhowander1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Great location, walking distance to restaurants and pubs. Room,bathroom, and TV were on the small side, but very clean and warm. Easy free parking on the street. Amy and Ewan were great hosts. Breakfast plentiful and delicious.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smontero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Grove, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

After driving through the city center to see Fort George, we were thankful that our B & B was just slightly out of the chaos of the main street. However, it was a mere 5 minute walk to the main streets which made it very convenient. Ewan and Amy were very nice to us and our room was lovely. We had a top corner room which had a slanted wall on one side. I did forget this when I banged my head in the morning, but that was my own fault. The breakfast was excellent. If you plan to park, get there early as there are only a few spots.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lms15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We had a great stay at this B & B in Inverness. Amy and Ewan were great hosts and wonderful to talk with. It is in a great location and our room had a wonderful view of the castle. We also saw the most beautiful sunset while we were there. There is off street parking and very central to the city and things to do. Breakfast was very nice and we felt as though we could relax. I didn't know how to turn on the TV however and Ewan was more than helpful even though I may have interrupted him during the Europe 2012 soccer finals. We absolutely loved this city and the Lodge. If we ever make it to Scotland again, this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walton on thames
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This B&B is perfectly situated very near the centre of Inverness yet very quiet .The views on the castle are great.The rooms are clean and comfortable .We even had a parking space.
The breakfast very nice but would have been nice to have a fresh fruit salad and some homemade jam rather that the bad quality ones in individual containers.
It is served in a nice little dining room.
We had a very warm welcome from our hosts.

Room Tip: Ask for castle view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toothlady66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#16 of 34 in Inverness
601 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
#16 of 231 in Inverness
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eildon Guest House
Eildon Guest House
#14 of 231 in Inverness
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inverness City Suites
Inverness City Suites
#6 of 48 in Inverness
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
MacDonald House
MacDonald House
#154 of 231 in Inverness
45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inverglen Guest House
Inverglen Guest House
#1 of 231 in Inverness
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigside Lodge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigside Lodge Guesthouse

Property: Craigside Lodge Guesthouse
Address: 4 Gordon Terrace, Inverness IV2 3HD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Craigside Lodge Guesthouse Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing