We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very welcoming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glendale

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glendale
Ranked #100 of 246 Inverness B&B and Inns
Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

It is a small B&B and Vera and Aleks make you feel like being part of the family. The went great lengths to provide us travel tips, maps ang guides. Aleks even picked us up from the train station and took us to the car rental place.
Not to mention, the room was modern and clean and the breakfast perfect.
We definitely recommend staying in Glendale with Vera and Aleks, we wish both of them all the best

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaLoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleks M, Owner at Glendale, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for the excellent review and your kind comments about Glendale. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and talking to you both at breakfast time each morning was a pleasure. We wish you all the best for the future. Your friends Vera & Aleks :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
81
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
158 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent 2 nights in the great Glendale B&B in Inverness.
The place is well located, specially if you are driving to Inverness: close to the main road exists, with internal parking place (really safe and free) and it is a 5 min walking distance to the city center....10 min walking to the river (pick-up point for main Lake Ness tours).

The room is beautiful, modern, cozy, clean and well equiped.
There is free wireless in the rooms and the bathroom products were really good! A real treat!
The owner received us at the agreed time, gave us keys, showed us around and let us know how everything worked. We were given a city map and guidance to main restaurants and attractions in the city and nearby area.

Breakfast is served on a small but very well done room close to the kitchen.
The owners, a very nice couple, will prepare what you like from the nice menu they put together.
It was such a pleasure to also be able to get to know the owners and exchange cultural experience!

We really felt sorry about leaving and largely recommed it to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NVR2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleks M, Owner at Glendale, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for writing such a lovely review. Vera & I are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Glendale and wish you both all the happiness in the world. Glad we could be helpful with your holidays to Inverness Scotland. Our love Vera & Aleks :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

What really made this wonderful holiday for us was the exceptional hospitality shown by Vera and Aleks. Nothing was too much trouble for them and it really did feel as though we were visiting family. We were made to feel completely at home as soon as we arrived and this feeling continued throughout our stay. Their home is extremely clean and comfortable, in an excellent location for walking into the city centre (8 minutes approx.) and yet beautifully quiet and peaceful. We enjoyed fantastic breakfasts every morning whilst watching the bird life in the pretty garden outside. Looking forward to returning again and maybe next time we'll have the room with the sea view (a little joke for Aleks!).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy444546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for four nights in mid-September with our 20-year old son to attend a wedding in Inverness. It was our first visit to the Scottish highlands for about 25 years and we were given a fantastic welcome by Aleks and Vera. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and completely quiet. The breakfasts are superb. Aleks is a retired chef, having formerly worked in a large hotel, and does brilliant omelettes with mushroom and tomatoes. You really can tell this is professional cooking - not what you expect in a B & B. Aleks and Vera make you feel part of the family and you get a good sense of the warmth of the welcome in Scotland more generally. Our only comment on the value is that there is no discount for single occupancy of a double room, even over a four-night stay. Also, you are asked to pay in cash soon after arrival, as they do not accept credit cards. Although the payment is fully receipted, one would rather pay at the end rather than at the beginning of the stay. However, the service they both provide their guests is exceptional by any standards. In our case it included a free lift to the airport at 5.30 a.m. to catch an early flight back to London. That was a wonderful ending to our stay. Gordon H.

Room Tip: Both rooms are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is my second trip to Inverness to run in the Loch Ness marathon and my Wife and once again booked into the Glendale which is the home of Alex and Vera. The reason I say home is because from the very minute that you walk through the door you really feel like you are visiting your extended family and not some impersonal Bed and Breakfast in a strange city.
Their home and guest rooms and superbly presented and very clean and also very comfortable with all the little Mod Cons you would require. But what really set Glendale apart is the hosts; Alex and Vera are in the humble opinion of my wife and I one of Inverness's gems, they will make you feel at home and will do their very best to help you get as much from your Highland visit as you can.
We can’t thank them enough for welcoming us to their home, hope to you both soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillMcDowalll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

The modern house is just a few minutes walk from town with a private parking place.
The double room is store and has all you need.
It was a very friendly atmosphere by Vera and Aleks.
Aleks gave us a lot of tips for doing and dining. He has a lot of prospects from in and around Inverness.
They both served us a wonderful breakfast with all scottish specialities and they talked a lot of them selfes during our breakfast.
We have come as a stranger and went away as a friend.
Thank you for all!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoWoD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I been there last August for 3 nights with my son. The house is located 5 minutes walk from the city center so you dont need to move your car. Aleks was very kind and helped us a lot. My son was interested in fishing and he gave him a book that explain all you need to know about fishing.
They have two rooms one double and one twin so is perfect for couples or families.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
3.0 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandwood Bed and Breakfast
Sandwood Bed and Breakfast
#65 of 246 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eildon Guest House
Eildon Guest House
#25 of 246 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ardersier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.2 mi away
An Grianan
An Grianan
#3 of 246 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.8 mi away
Corran Guest House
Corran Guest House
#12 of 246 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendale

Property: Glendale
Address: 65 Macewen Drive | Crown, Inverness IV2 3LJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 246 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our home in the highlands of Scotland only 5/10 minutes walk to the city centre of Inverness.Plenty off street private car parking.We have 1 Twin en-suite & 1 Double en-suite, accommodation for 4 Adults ONLY min stay 2 nights & NO Children under 12 Thank you kindly. Your hosts are Vera and Aleks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glendale Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing