We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Oakwood Restaurant

Oakwood Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 257 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Oakwood Restaurant is just 3 miles from Inverness on the Main A82 travelling towards Loch Ness, road side.Serving award winning Scottish food, Venison, Orkney Island Gold Beef, Hand dived scallops & Langoustine, along with chicken, lamb & a good vegetarian and vegan choices.
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Frequent diners to this superb restaurant . The restaurant owner very pleasant and welcoming.
Mouthwatering scallops, never disappointed with food fudge cheesecake is a must.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    619
    104
    13
    13
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing Food with Superb Service.... What a truly fantastic evening!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have visited the Oakwood before and loved it so we decided to return again recently on a Saturday evening for my sister's birthday. On arrival Gus was so helpful in letting us chill our ample supplies of wine in their fridges (BYOB and free corkage!) and also brought out the champagne flutes for us to toast the birthday girl with our bubbly.

The main selling point of the Oakwood is the food so I shall delve straight in and let you know.. from tasty scallops to freshly caught langoustines we were spoilt for starters. Our vegetarian diner also had a great choice plumping for the creamy garlic mushrooms accompanied with toast. Each and every dish was delicious... Gus also showed us how to get all the best meat out of the langoustines and equipped us with the tools to do them justice!

Onto the mains and from the haggis sandwiched between tender chicken breast flamed in port, served with a redcurrant reduction to the mixed seafood: monkfish, halibut, cod, haddock, salmon with prawns and crayfish tails, cooked in white wine with cream, fragrant with tarragon and fine herbs. To the Oakwood's own nut loaf served with a tomato & sweet chilli sauce we were literally filling our cheeks with tasty food washed down with our own chilled wine. It is also the attention to detail: the burners in the centre of the table to keep each individual's tattie and veg warm, and oh what a selection! Not one but three types of tattie, brocolli,carrot, cabbage and the sweetest grilled red onion. It is the little touch that you each get your own dish to tuck into and Gus places down a spoon and fork for it... although we were all just tucking in with our knives and forks.

The desserts were also amazing (and home made): the Orkney Fudge Cheesecake and the Highland Park Single Malt Whisky and Chocolate Cheesecake were winners for us.

As we looked around each and every other diner had that satisfying glowing look of contentment over good food in a lovely environment. No it is not ultra-modern or swishy but it is one of those environments where you want to stay a while and enjoy the excellent hospitality and ponder on why has good service become so rare.. because that is also what you will remember about the Oakwood: Sensational Service!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JBB1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great banter and friendliness!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

What a little gem hidden away on the A82 road down to Loch Ness out of Inverness. Delicious food, great service and what friendliness from Gus (one of the co-owners). All the staff were very polite and friendly. We enjoyed it all the more as we could bring our own favourite wines with no corkage charge, making it a thoroughly affordable restaurant. Recommend to anyone.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ian-brown1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Out of Inverness but so worth the trip”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Loved this restaurant. At Dochgarroch, about 4 miles out of Inverness. Gus,( the owner) is a bit of a character,dry sense of humour, but his wife is a fabulous cook.My Langoutine starter was to die for. The Braised Aberdeen Angus melted in the mouth.
The Orkney Fudge Cheesecake..need I go on....
You can bring your own wine,no corkage fee.
Really can't recommend this restaurant enough.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Brilliant home cooked food, excellent host”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We nipped in here for a lunch before travelling home and i was pleasantly surprised when we left and it was 2.5 hours later, food was exceptional and all served by a comfortable host, Scotch mist is a winner

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank kristen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oakwood Restaurant also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Oakwood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing