We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant home cooked food, excellent host”
Review of Oakwood Restaurant

Oakwood Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 260 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Oakwood Restaurant is just 3 miles from Inverness on the Main A82 travelling towards Loch Ness, road side.Serving award winning Scottish food, Venison, Orkney Island Gold Beef, Hand dived scallops & Langoustine, along with chicken, lamb & a good vegetarian and vegan choices.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Brilliant home cooked food, excellent host”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We nipped in here for a lunch before travelling home and i was pleasantly surprised when we left and it was 2.5 hours later, food was exceptional and all served by a comfortable host, Scotch mist is a winner

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank kristen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    629
    106
    13
    13
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gulfport, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“It's a Post Office”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were returning from a visit to "Glen Affric" region when we were getting hungry. We stopped at the first place we saw and came across what looked like a large house with a Post Office and restaurant sign. This is the first Post Office I have ever eaten in, it's also a gift shop.
The restaurant is very bright because of the large windows and the ceiling has tons of mugs hanging from hooks. The patron was very polite and took our order. The food came quickly and was very abundant and visually appealing. Our meals were deliceous. Although they do not have a license to sell alchohol you can take your own wine, they do not charge "corkage".
This was a pleasant suprise that we did not expect. Thank's Gus, I also noted that they already have a "tripadvisor" sticker on their window.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bibio952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just great!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful evening meal, with plenty of locally sourced food, beautifully cooked. The menu had something for all, and the vegetarian options were the most imaginative I've seen for a while. From the telephone booking with the lady of the establishment, who was so welcoming in tone and accommodating in giving us the last booking, through to the attentive, non-intrusive service, superb food and friendly hosting of Gus, the whole experience was something I would look forward to repeating. BYOB worked well for us, enjoying our own choice of wine, etc. The steak was excellent and cooked to my brother's very exacting standards perfectly. My langoustines were heavenly, and the lamb delicious. After a finish of Orkney fudge cheesecake, which is definitely delicious, the two birthday celebrators were allowed to choose their own mug from the huge collection suspended from the ceiling, to take away with them.
Can't praise this business highly enough and would heartily recommend it to all.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ailsmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had heard some good reviews about this restaurant and we were not disappointed. It was great food for excellent value. My husband had the liver and I had the braised beef. The food was top notch, plenty of food and hot. Nothing was too much trouble - will be back again when we are next up in Scotland for our holiday.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amelia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“I know a regular visitor to Oakwood - she praises the place and is right!”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

It's a bit different but the couple running it have created something very special here at the Inverness end of Loch Ness and it is a great dining experience. Well worth trying a lunch or dinner here - there will surely be something to suit any taste.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank The_Wilderbeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oakwood Restaurant also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Oakwood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing