We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Obliging B&B in the Highlands”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castle View Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
birkenhead
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Most Obliging B&B in the Highlands”
Reviewed May 14, 2010

Everything at this guesthoust was aimed at making you feel at home: breakfast times were not set in stone; there was a fridge to keep things cool for your packed lunch; a bowl of fruit for you to help yourself and cold drinks to buy at any time.
It is right in the centre of Inverness and really does have a view of the castle. The river is just out side the front door and there are many excellent resturaunts near by.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyjumpyfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    25
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
91
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heerlen,
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2010

At the end of my holiday last year, I stayed some days in Inverness. Thanks to Internet I booked at Castle View and have enjoyed it very much. The room was what you can expect from a single room. But the friendliness of the whole staff was wonderful. Norhing was too much for the girls and Mr. Munro. He gave me nice tips to do and showed me the best 2nd handbookshop I did ever see. On the last morning I had to leave before breakfast, but Mr. Monroe had put a take away breakfast for me in the fridge. And he had noticed my habits at breakfast: it was precisely what I liked.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finbar-nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Lewis
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2009

My colleague and I stayed at Castle View for two nights. Mr Munro kindly let us have two rooms for single occupancy and at a very reasonable rate.
The rooms were clean, comfortable and the free wireless broadband was a great bonus.
My colleague is a vegetarian (Vegan) but that caused no problems and she thoroughly enjoyed her breakfast, as did I. Good food and lots of it.
Would stay again and have no problem in recommending this Guesthouse.
One down side - the website wasn't working, so had no preview except what was listed in Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hebwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semily, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2009

We stayed for three nights and despite the room was over-furnished a bit and with yard view, the fantastic friendly atmosphere, delicious food and our host first of all made us feel homelike.
We would definitely recommend it to everybody! :)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zuzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2009

We reserved 3 nights at this lovely B&B based on reviews online - so I'm adding one. John Munro is the utmost host, welcoming and warm. We had a room on the very top floor with a large bathroom. Free wifi, a full Scottish breakfast in the morning - with eggs cooked to order - the views, and location are all top notch. It was a great place to return at the end of a busy day.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdx_gal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smokeybob
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2009

john is an excellent host, nothing was to much trouble. our room was excellent, and the view was out of this world, espesially at night when the castle is lit up.Breakfast was excellent too, lots of choise, and friendly staff

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smokeybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2009

We stayed in the Castle View guest House for 2 nights. It was brilliant. John Munro is so welcoming. We only wanted a double room & he gave us the family room for the same price. It was clean & tidy & the location was perfect. It is right in the middle of the city, on the river, faceing the castle. We had such a lovely stay. We've stayed in other places in Inverness & they do not compare to the Castle View. You will love it. It is great value for the price. It also has a yummy breakfast. Eggs are cooked to order. Fresh food & Excellent service. You can't ask for anything more. He has little homely extras that makes your stay more enjoyable. You have free wifi, an extremly cheap minibar & a lovely warm welcoming atmosphere. When we go back to Scotland we won't stay any where else.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mackace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.0 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Highland Apartments by Mansley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle View Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle View Guesthouse

Property: Castle View Guesthouse
Address: 2A Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle View Guest House is located in a vibrant, cosmopolitan yet quiet location directly opposite the historic Inverness Castle on the banks of the River Ness. In an ideal central location the recently upgraded 19th Century Victorian Guest House is a perfect base for exploring the stunning Scottish Highland scenery, whisky trails and distilleries. Canoeing, kayaking, cycling, hill walking, fishing, museums, castles, distilleries, Eden Court Theatre and Loch Ness boat trips are some of the many easy accessible attractions. An excellent selection of alternative dining options, wine bars, and traditional Scottish pubs, many with live Scottish music are all within close proximity. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castle View Guesthouse Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing