We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castle View Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Spent 5 very comfy warm and friendly days at this guesthouse. Room was spotless, had fantastic view of castle. Nicely furnished, room 3, wonderful choice of breakfast menu. Owner John very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Will certainly return.

Room Tip: Go for room 3 if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rac1959W650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 281 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

We arrived in Inverness by car and went searching a B&B. Our first accommodation we checked was the Castle View Guesthouse right in front of the Castle. Our lovely Host John offered us a nice and not expensive 4-bed-room at topfloor. A very delicious scottish breakfast included!

We enjoyed our stay and I can highly recommend the Castle View Guesthouse.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DamianHaener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My daughter and I travelled to Inverness mainly to visit Fort George as my Grandpa had served in the Cameron Highlanders during the first world war. We wanted to stay somewhere near the castle at a reasonable cost and found Castle View. John was a very attentive host and nothing was too much trouble for him. The choices at breakfast were very good.
We had room 4 which was clean with an ensuite bathroom although did not have a view of the castle but that didn't detract as we were out most of the day anyway !!
Would definitely stay again if we return to Inverness

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay. Its clean, quiet, excellent location and reasonable price. Mr. John Munro, the owner is an excellent host, who will attend to your needs in every possible ways. I feel rather fortunate seeing this beautiful Inverness and staying in this lovely place. Love to come back again.

Room Tip: Its a popular place and its often full, book the room as early as possible. Rooms face the castle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WPFTracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

As we arrived in Inverness, we parked our car and went searching a B&B that wasn't to expensive but nice. The First accommodation we checked was the castle view Guesthouse right across the ness by the castle. The Host was very polite and we had a good talk to him. He offered us the four people Bedroom at the topfloor wich was exactly what we were looking for. The price was alright and including a very delicious scottish breakfast.
I recommend everybody to stay at the castle view Guesthouse!

Room Tip: WIFI Connection is not that good on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had excellent stay here with my kids for a concert very good location right on the river excellent service would defo stay again infact tried booking but was fully booked :) john the manager was very nice and very helpful

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debbie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Superb in every way!
Excellent location and very reasonably priced considering where it is.
Very quiet at nights considering its so close to the centre of the city.
Breakfast was outstanding as was the welcoming owner.
Will definately be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WILLIE F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
3.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
616 reviews
0 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Inverglen Guest House
Inverglen Guest House
#2 of 232 in Inverness
519 reviews
4.1 mi away
Beach Cottage B&B
Beach Cottage B&B
#4 of 232 in Inverness
317 reviews
0.6 mi away
An Grianan
An Grianan
#5 of 232 in Inverness
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle View Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle View Guesthouse

Address: 2A Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: $40 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle View Guest House is located in a vibrant, cosmopolitan yet quiet location directly opposite the historic Inverness Castle on the banks of the River Ness. In an ideal central location the recently upgraded 19th Century Victorian Guest House is a perfect base for exploring the stunning Scottish Highland scenery, whisky trails and distilleries. Canoeing, kayaking, cycling, hill walking, fishing, museums, castles, distilleries, Eden Court Theatre and Loch Ness boat trips are some of the many easy accessible attractions. An excellent selection of alternative dining options, wine bars, and traditional Scottish pubs, many with live Scottish music are all within close proximity. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castle View Guesthouse Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing