We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back in Inverness”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castle View Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 229 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
birkenhead
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Back in Inverness”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were back in Inverness after two years and went back to Castle View Guest House. It was just as good as before with good rooms, a very comfortable bed and the best cooked breakfast in Scotland. It has easy to access wifi and is a walk away fom the town centre.

Room Tip: Ask for the super king sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyjumpyfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    24
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
82
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The first sight of the little door, stuck between a jewellery shop and a restaurant, leading from Ness Walk into Castle View Guest House doesn't properly paint a picture of what good experiences lie beyond.
It ticks all the boxes for cleanliness, value, facilities and homeliness. It is located, within a few tens of metres, close to restaurants, pubs, laundrette, supermarket and high street shopping. John is the quietly attentive highland host making sure that you're every need is met. Breakfast quantity and quality is excellent. Full English breakfast is supplemented by Haggis and black pudding making this a delicious full Scottish breakfast. John shares his local knowledge of past, present and future events to ensure that you get the most out of your trip to Inverness.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tagteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The owner is lovely-attentive but not overbearing.room very comfortable and spacious-shower in particular is fab!!breakfast is tasty+filling but seconds are available for those with heartier appetites!would definitely stay here again+will recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maukatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Homely, very clean, comfortable, independent, fantastic value for money, a great host. I would not want to stay anywhere else in Inverness. John provides an excellent service. If I owned a hotel, this man would run it! An abundance of all types of breakfast is available. You can last all day on John's "Scottish Breakfast." The Castle View is very centrally located for the city, attractions shops and station. I had a sngle room, which was plenty spacious, tv, shower and private loo. I was suprised that even in the city, it is a nice quiet place to stay. I will certainly be back and bringing my family with me next time. I am very fussy about accommodation. This has been more than home from home. I was here on a work related research trip, but it still very relaxing because of the nice guest house. Thank you John.

Room Tip: All rooms seem nice, my single room 5 was great, and |I am a big guy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Historyman48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

It was great staying at this cute bed n breakfast!Mr. John Munro is a very welcoming person! had a great experience there.and the breakfast was simply delicious!the location of the b n b is perfect...everything is walkable! :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aditik1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Castle View is all you could want from a B and B, and more: central location, a splendid view of the River Ness and Castle, rooms that are airy, comfortable, and clean, and an extremely friendly and attentive manager, John.

We had Room 2, with an en-suite shower and access to a shared bathroom (a stunning corner bath which was just what you need after a long day!) Bath robe provided and fresh milk was supplied in a communal fridge. Breakfast was very generous, with the option of choosing porridge and kippers, if you prefer.

If you are, as we were, undertaking the renowned daytour of Orkney, this is the place for you: the bus station is 10 minutes away on foot (handy for that 07.30a.m. departure) and John supplies a packed lunch if you have to miss breakfast. A large Tesco is 30 seconds from the B & B, making it easy to stock up on snacks and water for your day up north.

You could decide to stay somewhere else in Inverness, I suppose, but you'd be mad not to stay at the Castle View.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 give you access to the bathroom with its giant corner bath for that long indulgent soa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nigel_mortimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Great location! Room - comfy, clean, cozy with its own bathroom. Basic decor. Very good price. Three people shared the room. John Munro was a quiet, friendly, helpful owner. He even made us an early breakfast one day so we could catch our train. Gave my young child a book on Loch Ness monster because she is fascinated by Nessie. Has some nice extras - bowl of fresh fruit available near breakfast room for free. Community mini-fridge stocked with cold drinks for 50 pence and children under 10 free. Snacks - same fee. Honor system. Some newspapers and dvds available at no charge near breakfast room. Only negative - lots of stairs. Not for someone with bad knees or hips. No elevator. John helped us schlepp our luggage up the stairs. Generous "full scottish" breakfast. Plenty of food. Gracious service. Very close to laundromat and Tesco/ATM. Very close to Everything really. Nice restaurants and stores.

Room Tip: Our room had it's own bathroom and plenty of space with two beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacNCheeseMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.0 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Highland Apartments by Mansley
0.2 mi away
Ardconnel House B&B
Ardconnel House B&B
#7 of 229 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle View Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle View Guesthouse

Property: Castle View Guesthouse
Address: 2A Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 229 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle View Guest House is located in a vibrant, cosmopolitan yet quiet location directly opposite the historic Inverness Castle on the banks of the River Ness. In an ideal central location the recently upgraded 19th Century Victorian Guest House is a perfect base for exploring the stunning Scottish Highland scenery, whisky trails and distilleries. Canoeing, kayaking, cycling, hill walking, fishing, museums, castles, distilleries, Eden Court Theatre and Loch Ness boat trips are some of the many easy accessible attractions. An excellent selection of alternative dining options, wine bars, and traditional Scottish pubs, many with live Scottish music are all within close proximity. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castle View Guesthouse Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing