We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, tired & uncomfortable”
Review of Kinkell House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kinkell House
Ranked #193 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
Aurora
2 reviews
“Dirty, tired & uncomfortable”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Don't book this B&B! On-line pictures don't show the dirt, nor the musty smell. The furniture is old and uncomfortable, especially the bed which was a bumpy mattress on a simple metal frame. The breakfast was the cheapest possible. Mounted dead animals were displayed in almost every room covered in dust. Used linens were piled in the corner of one room upstairs. We could only book this B&B if we paid up front and now we know why. By far the poorest B&B during our 2 week visit to Scotland and above the average price.

Room Tip: No room was any better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeSandersonAurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
7
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Our room was clean and comfortable. The owner was pleasant and friendly, and yet left you alone to do your own thing which was very much appreciated. Breakfast was good, and the place was full of fab wacky taxidermy as a good Highland house should be. Parking was great, and the location very central, close to some good restaurants for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This b&b is within easy walking distance from the city centre>our room was large, cleanliness was good and the ensuite was adequate, if small. Breakfast portions were small and the owners a bit distant. Decor was dated, but it's an old house and I didn't think it was out of character.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

The positive about this was that it was very close to the city centre, so ideal if you did not have a car with you.

The owners were not overly friendly, the decor was very tired and badly needed updating. Room was not cleaned properly. Ensuite consisted of a private bathroom down the hall. You had to choose your breakfast the evening before along with the time and there was a poor choice of cereals and only orange juice. Breakfast quality was adequate, was expecting local produce but this was supermarket fare.

The room we had consisted of a single bed and a double bed, the double was placed so close to the wardrobe that you kept banging your feet every time you tried to walk past.

Dead animals everywhere, all looking tired and in need of replacing. Trying to be Scottish but failing miserably, too much clutter everywhere to keep it clean.

Needs a visit from the Hotel Inspector.

Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DQ73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Terrible customer service.
Just awful.
Worst b&b stay of our 2-week trip.

Room Tip: Terrible customer service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRAIG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Nice home but the furnishings were odd and tired. Had a stuffed polecat on display in the dining room. Clean rooms but had a broken floorboard under the carpet & squeaked every time you stood on it. Bathroom & shower was extremely small but plenty of hot water. The walls were a thin & you could hear other guests. Claire the owner was helpful in answering our questions about the area & offering advice. Usual breakfast, cereal or porridge & choice of hot food. Had a wonderful dinner at a nearby hotel - Redcliffe Hotel. Good parking.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbrown49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

As a 18th century property it was full of character, but the decor is a little tired.
Having to choose your breakfast the previous evening is not ideal. As I wanted a light breakfast only - I chose a poached egg. Which arrived all alone on a big plate - presentation/imagination was lacking

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francis_o_brien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverness
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
8.8 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corriegarth Hotel
Corriegarth Hotel
#15 of 34 in Inverness
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Beaufort Hotel
Beaufort Hotel
#24 of 34 in Inverness
477 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eildon Guest House
Eildon Guest House
#15 of 231 in Inverness
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinkell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinkell House

Property: Kinkell House
Address: 11 Old Edinburgh Road, Inverness IV2 3HF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kinkell House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Kinkell House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing