We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Persuaded to eat outside my taste zone.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riva

Riva
Reserve with OpenTable
Riva is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 251 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a modern based cuisine with Italian influences, based on the banks of the river ness
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
154 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Persuaded to eat outside my taste zone.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Nice starter but was persuaded to try a fish & pasta combination for my main course I would not normally have tried - not wild about tomato with salmon. However it was excellent & would eat again. Thanks to the waiting staff.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank latetraveller100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    220
    83
    29
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Another great meal!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

This is my fourth visit this month! The food is delicious. The vegetarian pizza tastes great! And the service was friendly as always!

Helpful?
Thank djrs1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
186 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Best pasta sauce - ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Riva Pizzeria is upstairs through a separate entrance from the main restaurant. Great river and castle view. Bustling atmosphere, attentive, friendly staff and the BEST pasta sauces I have tasted. I had the meatballs with tagliatelle and my friend the vegetarian penne and we both agreed that the sauce was outstanding. Fresh tasting with cherry tomatoes and al dente vegetables, perfectly seasoned. Absolutely delicious. We also had delicious garlic focaccia but adored the pasta sauce. Try it - you will not be disappointed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank blackeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great pizza! Great service! Great value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

I was in Inverness on a business trip and went to the Riva restaurant as an alternative to the hotel.

It is in a great location, alongside the River Ness, though you may need to be on your guard in case Nessie feels a little peckish....

I went to the Pizzeria, which upstairs from the main resto. It is a fairly small affair, but well laid out with enough space between tables that you didn't have to listen in to other's conversations.

The meal was fab and so was the service, but it wasn't particularly busy either. It was also very reasonably priced.

Will definitely go here again if I'm in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BoyFromEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food and service again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

After an initial mix up on starters (which was quickly resolved) the food and service was good. This the third time we have visited in the last 18 months and again cannot find a great deal to complain about. We requested one main to be altered from the description on the menu, the chef was more than happy to do so. Three courses, wine coffees all for a reasonable price. We will be going to Riva again on our next visit to Inverness.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank southbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riva also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Riva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing