We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great welcome home from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royston Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royston Guest House
Ranked #76 of 246 Inverness B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great welcome home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

very clean and wekcoming atmosphere
great location to city and amenities great scottish breakfast set me up for the day ross great host made you feel like one of the family hope to come back to inverness next year will be staying here again thank you ross for making us so welcome bill

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank burgalarab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InvernessRoyston, Owner at Royston Guest House, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We enjoyed having you here at Royston guest inverness and are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.We hope you will return again in the near future Kind Regards Ross .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    31
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
35
37
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

I don't understand the excellent reviews for this place and expected something much better. The decor is 30-40 years old, the carpeting is worn, old linoleum & formica in the bathroom, and our room #5 was in need of repair. An earlier reviewer mentioned the toilet seat which slips and slides since it's secured only on one side. Well, it's still broken and wobbly. We were never showed to our room nor instructed about the "pull cord" shower heater. We were shocked to see a TripAdvisor Excellence Award for 2012 and have to wonder about the credibility of this award.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deb60565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InvernessRoyston, Owner at Royston Guest House, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Sorry to hear you were not happy with youre one nights stay at royston guest house, i would like to say the guest house bed rooms are painted every year, as for the the flooring in the bathroom that was put in march 2012 as for youre coments that the decor is 30 to 40 years old i think that is a bit of an exageration? Also there is guest information folder in each room with with details on how to operate shower, heating, tv, dvd player lights etc. As for the certificate of excellence awarded by tripadvisor 2012 this was because 96% of our guest where happy with the service and facilities at royston guest house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
insch
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We turned up on the door step of the Royston Guest House. Ross the owner greeted us he showed us to our rooms explained everything and left us to it. The room was clean and comfortable. Bathroom had a nice big shower. The breakfast was great plenty of choice served. Thank you for a pleasants nights stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mycatguiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esbjerg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Our family had the pleasure of staying 4 nights in The Royston guesthouse in summer. The guesthouse itself has a very homely and Scottish feel to it, and was always clean and comfortable. The breakfast selection was large and catered for all tastes. The owner Ross was very friendly and helpful in all matters and we made much use of his local knowledge on where to visit and where to avoid. We would definitely recommend this establishment to anyone staying in Inverness.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen Ross G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Very comfortable room and excellent breakfasts. And if you're lucky, like I was, Ross might even buy you a drink (or two) if you bump into him around the city centre on his night off.
I've got nothing negative to say about this property, I particularly liked the tartan carpeted hall, stairs and landings.
Breakfast consists of a buffet containing cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruit, fruit juice, tea, coffee; followed by a full Scottish breakfast or porridge.
I would definitely stay at this property again and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: On the main road into the city centre, but traffic noise is minimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steven r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Il-Fgura, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Hi Ross, thanks for your hospitality, you made us feel so welcome, you also treated our daughter like a princess:) The house is lovely, our room was so cosy. You made us feel 'at home'. Keep up the good work... i have to complain about one thing... your breakfast was so delicious that i put on weight:) Thanks again, Micheanish, Christian and Giulia

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MicheanishSammut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Beautiful guest house very close to inverness. Clean and well furnished, room had big shower (finally) and was very comfortable. The owners are very nice and kind. Breakfast is quite rich: from several kinds of cereals to the full scottish breakfast including black pudding.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alessandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
2.0 mi away
Dunhallin House
Dunhallin House
#6 of 246 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
1.4 mi away
Trafford Bank Guest House
Trafford Bank Guest House
#17 of 246 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
1.1 mi away
Corran Guest House
Corran Guest House
#10 of 246 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ardersier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mardon Guest House
Mardon Guest House
#59 of 246 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
#20 of 246 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royston Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royston Guest House

Property: Royston Guest House
Address: 16 Millburn Road, Inverness IV2 3PS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 246 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royston Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royston guest house accommodation in Inverness is a quality bed and breakfast in the centre of Inverness. The guest house has 8 en-suite bedrooms, private parking, free wi fi, sky tv, setanta sports in the guest lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Royston Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royston Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing