We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good brasserie ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Contrast Brasserie

Contrast Brasserie
Ranked #50 of 251 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $64
Cuisines: British, Scottish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In Scotland, the traditional way of cooking is to create simple dishes, built around one great ingredient. Contrast Brasserie is no different. From succulent rare breed pork or prime dry-aged beef to locally grown market vegetables and fresh fish from sustainable we try to stay true to our Scottish roots. With a sharp focus on Scottish, locally sourced produce, Contrast Brasserie is a refreshing addition to the Inverness restaurant scene. Located a short walk along the river the city centre and across from Eden Court Theatre, it's the perfect lunch, pre-theatre and dinner destination.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good brasserie ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

We had a very tasty dinner there, great location. You can have a drink at the bar area, choose the menu and afterwards you go to your table... Very nice!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marcelo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    91
    38
    26
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

A great selection for an early evening meal and superb value for money. Service was faultless and we will be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martyncrawshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
909 reviews
430 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

We had an excellent meal at the Contrast and was surprised to read on Tripadvisor that it was rated as No 51 of the 187 restaurants in Inverness. We would rate it as one of the best that we have dined at and we have dined at at lot of restaurants.

The menu provided some great selections, the service was excellent and the food was great. We had the mussels and fish cakes as starters, both very reasonable portions and extremely tasty, followed by the pork belly and steak both of which were extremely well presented and a delight to eat.

Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CocoTampa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food but not family friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Contrast has excellent food - all the dishes we had were good with beautiful presentation. The fish was outstanding. However, the maitre d' doesn't seem to be family friendly. All the families with kids were seated at the back of the restaurant. Ditto for non-whites even though there were plenty of available tables in front. So families, you are probably better off taking your custom elsewhere. That said, the waitress (Polish) who served us was very warm.

Helpful?
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“"Food was amazing but the waitors need to work on service"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Well I had been really looking forward to this meal out and without a doubt, the food these guys created was outstanding (Some of the best I've ever tasted in my entire life) however, without a doubt, the main thing which let itself down tonight was the service as from the moment we finished our main course it felt like we had been ignored and that annoyed me a lot because service is really important. Even at times, there were moments when we were having to ask and they ignored us which made me question at the end why my dad left a £3 tip. I myself would've given them just £1 considering the service was really bad and I for one will not be returning to that resteraunt even if there food was spectacular. I'd rather go somewhere if the food was crap and be given amazing service than somewhere I feel like I'm non-existent as a person.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Contrast Brasserie also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Contrast Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing