We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Chieftain Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heathmount Hotel(Inverness)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveler rating
153
122
41
30
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
122
41
30
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsirn bruspacious family roomcity centreexcellent staywould stay againbeds were comfortablelovely hotelvery pleasant staybooked this hotelcouple of nightsnight's sleeprailway stationstayed here for one nightlizconservatorykettlehighlands
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
289 - 294 of 371 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Had an overnight stay here recently and it was a great place for me to recharge my batteries.
Great choice for dinner and it tasted great and plenty of it, breakfast was brilliant. Set me up for day ahead. Had a great sleep in a very comfortable bed and room was ideal. Hotel is modern, spotless and the staff are very friendly and helpful.
Would I stay there again - Yes
Would I recommend it to you - Yes

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homecomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights....staff were very friendly always a smile...breakfast was really good...bed was comfy toilet spotless...safe to say i would be happt to go back & recommend to friends visiting

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Hubby & I had a lovely 3days staying here. The Owner & all the staff were wonderful & helpful at all times. The room was spacious & very clean always. The meals in the Restaurant were generous portions & so yummy! It was only a few mimutes away from the hub of Inverness for sightseeing & shopping. If ever back in Bonny Scotland visiting the beautiful capital of the highlands, Inverness,we would certainly stay here again. Well recommended!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alibellies-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I was on a buisness trip and thought I would choose the chieftain hotel walked into the hotel to see the lovely warm vibe of the hotel checked in and the staff were very kind and helpful, went up to the room to see a nice clean and tidy room!
Best hotel ever
Ps. Really nice food

Room Tip: Number 7 is the best !!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TaylorL15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Started off OK friendly staff and clean enough. Was provided this hotel while I worked night shift for a week in another store. One night I got in at 4am to be told by the night porter my stuff had been removed from the room packed up by a member of staff and I would have to sleep on a camp bed in a room with some one who worked for the same company but from another store so someone I had only just met.
The camp bed was missing bars they could not provide pillows or a duvet and gave me 2 duvet covers one was filthy. I ended up sleeping on the floor in my clothes. A member of staffs apology consisted of as far as the hotels concerned its not our fault. It took 4 days to get an apology from management and only because I complained. In one week I had my privacy violated, and trust shattered. I feel sick and angry that a hotel would do this to someone who had no option at that time of day but to stay and put up with this shocking treatment.
This was an avoidable incident as one staff member had come in to the room 3 times on the day a member of staff packed my suitcase when I was at work and put it in a cleaning cupboard and no apology will compensate for the upset and anger this has caused.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cevem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerri L, General Manager at The Chieftain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Guest, we are unhappy to read this review. As we had explained to yourself on that particular morning, your company had instructed us that you were a depart. There was obviously a communication issue regarding your work. As we saw it we could not "leave you on the street" and as we were already fully booked we felt that we had to do something to help you. It was not the ideal situation, but we did try and find alternative accommodation for you without any luck as Inverness was/is very busy at this time of year.
Liz (the owner) was more than happy to discuss this with you as she personally drove you to catch the train the next morning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews