We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big changes going on...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Chieftain Hotel
Ranked #43 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Big changes going on...”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Stayed a few nights early february and it appears positive changes are underway.The hotel is under new management and the family who have taken over seemed to be working almost 24 hour days addressing the issues raised in other reviews.The laundry service ,which was apparently previously done by hotel staff on site,is now contracted out to a professional laundry firm,re-assuringly,and a new team of chefs are in place.I never had dinner in the hotel so cant comment on the food,although the breakfasts were lovely.
The decor is definitely a little dated,though and I hope some investment is made as this is a nice,welcoming,centrally located hotel.With a busy public bar and lounge,this family run hotel definitely has a much better atmosphere than staying at one of the rather sterile chains.
Not luxury,try Rocpool if thats what you are after( at luxury prices !),but clean,friendly and apparently,on the up !!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ratherbeingreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    84
    33
    19
    25
See reviews for
78
89
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed a weekend as a break away from kids. When we arrived thought we booked double was given a twin!
Was expecting a much better room, the decor was very dated, the window looked onto a roof and metal walkway!
There was no remote for tv.
The worst thing was the beds! They were the most uncomfortable I have ever slept in! You could feel the springs and were covered in vinyl!!
We went down for a drink in the evening and it was good, staff very friendly!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Lovely small hotel with only a 5 minute walk to the Eastgate indoor shopping centre and railway station in the centre of Inverness. Rooms were very nice with large bathroom and staff very friendly and efficient in their jobs. Only criticism is that the tables in the bar area are in need of replacement.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CALEXANDER_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Stayed here while working In Inverness and I hates it work was the best part of the day just to be away from it. I woke up and had bite marks all over my legs and arms... There was hair (not mine) on my sheets a horrible rubber mattress. My colleague had all of these same issues In his bed (resorting to sleeping on top of the duvet and using a towel to cover himself) the wallpaper was hanging off the bathroom was extremely dated lovely avocado the shower has to be turned off and on from outside the bathroom no shampoo or body wash was included. The bathroom door did not close and there were dents in it I would definately not stay here again (the receptionist has been told)

AVOID AT ALL COSTS

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LWSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2011

good location for walking into the town, value for money, clean spacious family room.Good hearty breakfast both scottish and english set us up for the day.Music in public bar a bit too much couldnt hear yourself talk but not a problem in the room. The McAlley family

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianmcalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Wallpaper coming away from the walls,
Mold,
Holes in walls.

The above is the bad points. But the staff are fantastic. Breakfast was good, I didn't have evening meals there.
I can't comment on room value as the company I work for are footing the bill.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nottmlad78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We booked two rooms online, arrived and waited a good ten minutes at recieption with no members of staff arround, we pressed bell several times and still nobody came. When some eventually came they told us we had two double rooms having booked a double and twin! It didn't take long to notice that the decor was tired and the cleaniness was below standard. The bathroom was grotty and the shower curtian was hanging off. The tap was loose on the sink and the door would not shut. I pulled back my duvet and found a hole in my sheet. The windows were disgusting. The beds were very very uncomfortable! At breakfast we had to set our own table as they were only tables of two, we were not greeted in any manner, the table clothes were plastic and sticky! The juice jugs were empty and needing filled up. Breakfast itself was good, lorne sasuage was rather hard. Overall I wouldnt stay here again!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaz6592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.5 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
1,788 reviews
0.6 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#21 of 34 in Inverness
1,190 reviews
0.7 mi away
King's Highway
King's Highway
#34 of 231 in Inverness
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Caberfeidh B&B
Caberfeidh B&B
#61 of 231 in Inverness
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
An Grianan
An Grianan
#4 of 231 in Inverness
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royston Guest House
Royston Guest House
#69 of 231 in Inverness
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chieftain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chieftain Hotel

Property: The Chieftain Hotel
Address: 2 Millburn Road, Inverness IV2 3PS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chieftain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chieftain Inverness is a family run Inn just 5 minutes walk from the city centre. Here Liz Lawson and her family ensure that guests enjoy the refurbished rooms, bar & restaurant, where food is available all day from a good value menu.The refurbished 14 en-suite rooms are situated on the first & second floors and have everything you would expect from a Scottish Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Chieftain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chieftain Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing