We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, awful service.”
Review of Jimmy Chung's

Jimmy Chung's
Ranked #199 of 260 Restaurants in Inverness
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value, awful service.”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Went in with my housemate and the food was very good considering how little we paid. However, staff were horrendously rude and behaved as though serving customers was a complete hassle.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    123
    142
    77
    95
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strathcarron, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Decent enough”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I ate here while working in Inverness. The food is of a decent standard, and the staff are all pleasent enough. A solo diners bill coming in at £12 including one pint of orange juice is good value in my opinion. the restaurant has a great view of the River Ness. A decent Chinese buffet all in all.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nightfireuk2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the tin”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Efficient clearing service of this fairly well stocked Chinese buffet. Cheap and cheerful is the name of the game, but there were some surprising dishes in there as well if you can take the time to find them. Worth a try for the hungry traveller as long as you don't expect anything too much?!

Helpful?
Thank wanderin_around
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Night out to suit all family”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Had evening with my daughter and friends, with a view of the river Ness.
The staff were scarce and had to try and get someone to pay, as they were in another room eating. The food was nice, but wouldn't want to go again

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaronWortley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst service ever experienced”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Having been to a number of Jimmy Chung's restaurants, I know that the service I experienced here is not the norm. The staff were extremely unfriendly, glum looking and rarely came near us. One waiter who showed us to our table and gave us our drinks was on his phone and sitting at another table chatting; another waiter was eating his dinner at another table in between serving customers. Our dirty plates were not taken away and I had to stare out the waiter to get a fresh water. Just before dinner was served (half4ish) all the chefs came out the kitchen and were sitting eating what appeared to be their dinner! This was while customers were still finishing lunch/ beginning dinner. During this time our plates were stacking up. It also clearly stated to pay at your table. However as no staff were about, we waited and then went to the bar. The staff member did not look very impressed and somewhat threw our bill down at us. My partner took out his card to pay and the waiter tutted! They also charged us for tap water as 'soft drinks' but of course we did not pay. Genuinely the worst service I have ever experienced, which is a shame because our local Jimmy Chung's in Dundee is always friendly and quick.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahKS3503DR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy Chung's also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Jimmy Chung's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing