We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still there after all these years”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pottery Bunkhouse

Pottery Bunkhouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pottery Bunkhouse
Seaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Still there after all these years”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My wife and I have been customers at the Pottery/Cafe for over 20 years (never had need to stay in the bunkhouse although we have viewed it). Unfailingly good quality home-made cakes, filled rolls, soup and hot drinks. It makes a great 'pit stop', only 6 miles off the A9, but we were on a 'day out' and it says something that we chose it as a 'destination', driving a 100 mile round trip for sublime lemon drizzle cake and tea bread. Good, proper, coffee too. Despite never needing anything we always end up being seduced by the beautiful clothing, cards and pottery oddments. Yesterday it was cards, but the knitwear is very hard to resist. Unfortunately there isn't so much pottery to be had these days, but what remains is good. The service is always friendly, but it's a small place: if you happen to arrive at the same time as a lot of other people, you'll need to be patient. Customers have trouble choosing between the amazing cake selection and the staff won't rush you! In fine weather there is a 'sit-ooterie' but yesterday wasn't that great so we enjoyed the wood burner in the cafe instead.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrumpyGInvernes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    6
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
7
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Forres
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2012

After a brilliant bike ride along General Wade's Road going west from Laggan we stopped off at the Pottery Bunkhouse for tea and cake. (the business is changing and won't be a bunkhouse from October 2012)

From the moment I stepped in the door I was overwhelmed by the thoughtful and inspired design and atmosphere of this cafe/shop. The drinks and food were presented in lovely pottery and the cakes were yummy. The actual building had been lovingly renovated with a high ceiling and exposed wooden beams.

I am not a shopper by nature however the quality and selection of clothing, accessories and home wares were enticing and I ended up with a unique dress at a great price.

If you're taking a leisurely drive on the A9 take the detour to Laggan and visit this place - you may find a unique gift for yourself or a loved one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curious_traveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

We were staying locally and visited a number of times to taste the great cakes. Coffee and Queen Margaret(?) were our favourites followed closely by chocolate, lemon drizzle and apple sauce cake! Best of all, decent coffee was served. If that was not enough, the shop had some great one off fantastic finds, lovely knitwear and original one off items. Can't wait to visit when the new glass and timber extension is built which will offer evening meals for groups staying in the bunkhouse. Only problem is that we couldn't find it easily on Trip Advisor to leave this comment!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Rural-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I recently enjoyed a weekend in this bunkhouse, and I probably would stay again. It is in a superb location. The bunkhouse was everything I would expect from a bunkhouse, practical not luxury. I did however stumble across a few issues during my stay
- the owner seemed to have some confusion over our booking and phoned whilst we were en route to check our booking and whether or not we'd paid, which was slighlty worrying as we had paid and she seemed to think we were staying one night not two. I nderstand sometimes mixs ups happen, but looking at other reviews i wonder if this isn't the first time.
- there were combination locks on the bedroom doors, but we were never shown how to use them or were unable to find any instructions, therefore our bedroom was unlocked, thankfully the other party in the bunkhouse at the time seemed trustworthy.
- there was mouldy food in the fridge, both parties in the bunkhouse had arrived at the same time and neither of us had been there long enough to produce food with this amount of mould.
-a pet hate of mine, handwritten notes stuck up all over the bunkhouse reminding to turn off lights and taps and take off muddy shoes

On a brighter note, the bunkhouse does have a superbly equipped kitchen with a lovely large gas stove and three fridges, so plenty room to store food and a comfortable communal area. I liked that all the beds in the room we were staying in had individual bed side lamps.

I had a good weekend, but the stay could have been improved with a simple welcome book which listed the rules of the bunkhouse, rather than constantly reading post it notes, and instructions on use of facilities.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Webbo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Attracted by the beautiful enticing sign, a friend and I stopped by to a very welcoming cafe.
Sandwiches, cake and coffee were had followed by a browse around the craft and clothing fare on offer. Delicious home made chocolate cake is a must if you visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgfuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Some friends and I rented an 8-bed dorm in the Pottery Bunkhouse to explore the area for the weekend. We found it basic, but comfortable and well-equipped, with a good size kitchen and communal area, adequate bunk-beds and shower facilities. A bonus was the cafe attached, which has good coffee and cake, and a hotel a short walk away, which was good for an evening meal. The bunkhouse price per person was excellent and the owner was helpful but left us to get on with it, which we appreciated.

Overall I'd heartily recommend this place if you're looking for good value budget accomodation for a group or a family, in a beautiful part of Scotland.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adelemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdonian in Glasgow
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

Unfortunately (or maybe fortunately) didnt get a chance to stay in the bunkhouse due to the rude owners completely ignoring my emails and phonecalls requesting accomodation availability. If this is how they run their business then they must be extremely arrogant to think that they can ignore potential custom during what I would regard as a quiet time of year . Myself and 3 friends have since booked 2 nights in a hostel nearby who were more than happy to take our business.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thisisnorthscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.0 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Highland Backpackers Inverness
0.0 mi away
Inverness Hostel
Inverness Hostel
#35 of 40 in Inverness
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Inverness Youth Hostel
Inverness Youth Hostel
#16 of 40 in Inverness
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camping Pod Heaven
Camping Pod Heaven
#2 of 4 in Abriachan
37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ardersier
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pottery Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pottery Bunkhouse

Property: Pottery Bunkhouse
Address: Laggan Bridge | Inverness-shire, Inverness PH20 1BT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Inverness
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Pottery Bunkhouse Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing