We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Value”
Review of Nico's Bistro and Bar - CLOSED

Nico's Bistro and Bar
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Scottish, Grill, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our in house bar restaurant - Nicky Tam's - offers a relaxed and casual atmosphere with a menu serving traditional Scottish food with the finest local produce, ales and premium spirits... While we have a wide choice of wine by the glass, cocktails, a selection of 80 pure malt whisky and more than 10 Scottish gin... Nicky tam's also offers all the favourite classics such as Steak Pie, Haggis, Burgers, Cullen skink and even more on our specials board. With a mix of granite and wood walls, tartan furniture, burning stoves, the scene is set for a family gathering, relaxing afternoon tea, business meeting or simply catching up with friends to get a away from the stresses of the daily routine. We have a large selection of wine by the glass, cocktails, over 80 pure malt whiskies and more than 10 Scottish gins... Please ask for our drink and whisky list at the bar. Definitely worth a look! Our bar is open all day for drinks and coffee, we serve food from 12 to 2:30pm for lunch and from 5pm until 9pm for dinner. Please note that we open for lunch during the winter on booking only
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Nico’s is a very good restaurant - obviously not truly world-class, but it is not priced as such (i.e. it represents reasonable value).I had the Early Bird menu, which was very good and good value. Everything was well executed and very enjoyable. The service was also just perfect..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Christopher800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Nico's Bistro and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Many thanks for your kind review.
We are glad you enjoyed your meal at Nico's.
We look froward to welcoming you again soon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 124 of 282 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

Based in the Glen Mhor Hotel, Inverness you get great food and service. The menu has vegitarian food as well. What Mhor do you need.

Thank scooby52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmhormanager, Manager at Nico's Bistro and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Many thanks for your very kind regards.
We are glad you enjoyed your dinner at Nico's.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I just wanted to say ‘Thank you’ to you, Emmanuel, and all your team for their help and assistance in connection with my PARTY night. We all had a fantastic time and everyone who stayed over had a very comfortable visit!!!
The 'Bar' was the perfect venue for my group of 35! I had many friends from London & Edinburgh and they loved the location of the hotel on the river and with just a 5 minute walk to the town centre! Fantastic!! We will return! Moira

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Moira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmhormanager, Manager at Nico's Bistro and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to put a review.
We are all glad you enjoyed your party.
We look froward to welcoming you again soon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Went here on a whim for an evening meal with my parents. Got the set menu which they serve until 6.30pm for £12.95 for 2 courses and £16.95 for 3.
Got grilled goats cheese and salad to start, the cheese was very nice, salad was bland not really anything special. Parents got the pate and said it was very nice but needed more oatcakes.
We all got a 6oz steak as a main, steak was a little above average, nothing too special. The main issue with the main was that they asked if we would like sauces/sides. Obviously the sides will cost, mum got mushrooms and step-dad got onion rings, £3.45. Not extortionate but not cheap either for the few we got. The main problem was we all asked for peppercorn sauce, £2.95 for a tiny pot of sauce, I found this awful. You wouldn't pay for ketchup or mayonnaise or gravy on the side of your roast dinner on a sunday. Peppercorn sauce also tasted a lot like packet mix not made by hand or anything and £2.95 was just totally out of order.

Service was fine, had to wait a bit for the sauces once our mains had arrived. Waitresses didn't seem too interested or anything, pretty average as things go.

Probably would try another hotel or restaurant along the river another time.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Myfi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmhormanager, Manager at Nico's Bistro and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

We were sorry to read of your disappointment.
All prices are on our menu. Should you think it is too small portion, please feel free to ask for more! We will be more than happy to accommodate.
However we will be taking into consideration all your comments.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I was delighted with the service we received from The Glen Mhor when we used the venue for a recent HBWC meeting. We really did get value for money, with steak & chips (and trimmings), followed by the most amazing chocolate and raspberry brownie dessert - heaven on a plate. The addition of Roddy to the team was an excellent decision, such friendly and attentive service - thanks to Emmanuel and the team

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kath K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmhormanager, Manager at Nico's Bistro and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Many thanks for your very kind comments!
Glad to hear you enjoyed your evening at Nico's.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nico's Bistro and Bar also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing