We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lone female”
Review of Nico's Bistro and Bar - CLOSED

Nico's Bistro and Bar
Cuisines: European, British, Grill, Fusion, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our in house bar restaurant - Nicky Tam's - offers a relaxed and casual atmosphere with a menu serving traditional Scottish food with the finest local produce, ales and premium spirits... While we have a wide choice of wine by the glass, cocktails, a selection of 80 pure malt whisky and more than 10 Scottish gin... Nicky tam's also offers all the favourite classics such as Steak Pie, Haggis, Burgers, Cullen skink and even more on our specials board. With a mix of granite and wood walls, tartan furniture, burning stoves, the scene is set for a family gathering, relaxing afternoon tea, business meeting or simply catching up with friends to get a away from the stresses of the daily routine. We have a large selection of wine by the glass, cocktails, over 80 pure malt whiskies and more than 10 Scottish gins... Please ask for our drink and whisky list at the bar. Definitely worth a look! Our bar is open all day for drinks and coffee, we serve food from 12 to 2:30pm for lunch and from 5pm until 9pm for dinner. Please note that we open for lunch during the winter on booking only
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lone female”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

When visiting Inverness for work commitments I decided to eat at Nico's Seafood and Grill House. The restaurant and staff were very welcoming. Unfortunately the dishes that had tempted me in to dine were not available. However, I was not disapointed as the Catch of the Day dish was delicious very well cooked and presented. I will certainly dine there again when I next visit Inverness.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank judgev2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Nico's Bistro and Bar, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us.

We're glad that you enjoyed your meal with us. Sorry that the meals you fancied run out, we prepare all our food fresh, so sometimes it can happened that one dish runs out but we're glad to hear that you also liked the alternative.

Hopefully we can welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    89
    29
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Broughty Ferry, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ambience in inverness”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

on visiting nicos during our stay at the glen mhor hotel we were made to feel very welcome by the staff especially our waiter who was very attentive,the food on offer was great value for money and both course we had were excellent.
the restuarant itself is very nice and very ambient just the ticket for those wishing to unwind after a busy week ,i would recommended nicos seafood and grill house highly as its well worth a visit if you are either from the highlands or like us just visiting
kind regards
gary finlayson
broughty ferry,dundee

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Nico's Bistro and Bar, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent meal with us.

We're glad that you enjoyed your meal and will forward your positive comments.

Hopefully we can welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I believe they have a new chef...he is out to impress! Dishes were excellent - all the food was nicely prepared and tasted great. Staff service was very friendly and competent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank buzzer64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmhormanager, Manager at Nico's Bistro and Bar, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for your review, glad that you enjoyed your experience at Nico's seafood and grill house. hope too see you again soon.


Food and Beverage manager
Darus Pukenas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A nice restaurant in a nice hotel”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed in the Glen Mhore Hotel, and dined the Nico's Seafood and Grill Bar last weekend, and found a welcoming place where everything ran smoothly. Every dish was outstanding, the service was gracious and friendly, and the wine list was extensive and high-quality. Don't hesitate to visit the Nico’s in Inverness, it is a memorable experience!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Istvan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Nico's Bistro and Bar, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience.
We hope that you will visit us again soon!
Kind Regards,

Emmanuel Moine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siauliai, Lithuania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place best food”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Spend 2 days in Inverness as locals say in the capital of Highlands.
In Inverness we visited sea food and grill house Nicos. Food and service was really great here, especally special oysters and seabass.
Single malt selection is oustanding...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Margarita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Nico's Bistro and Bar, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with us.

We're glad that you enjoyed your meal and I'll forward your comments with great pleasure to our staff.

Hopefully we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nico's Bistro and Bar also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing