We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe 1

Cafe 1
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe 1 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 251 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $58 - $59
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Beauly, Inverness-shire
Level Contributor
184 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

The weather was pretty grim when we visited. Bit of a surprise after a long spell of warm weather. It was definitely the sort of day to go for the special which was Coq au Vin. I was not disappointed and neither was my dining companion who had a very upmarket version of fish fingers using salmon. Had the crepe with malteser ice cream and toffee sauce which was sublime, as always. Great place for lunch.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    540
    156
    87
    29
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Poor all round for a good night out.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

I went there to enjoy a great meal and fun night out. This was not the case on this time. The Steak was cooked perfectly but there was to much sauce and not enough potatoes or vegetables. The room was so noisy that I could not hear what the specials were. It was not a fun evening as we were seated were everyone pass on the way in and out. There is better steaks, customer service and atmosphere in many other restaurants in Inverness, at a much more realist price that what I had to pay.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lisamay73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Consistently good.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

I have eaten in this restaurant a few times now and every time the service was excellent and the menus choice and selection of food was inspired, so hats off to the owner and his team. When the food was served and the way it was presented was excellent.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not entirely convincing as a higher-end restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Mixed feelings about this place. The ambiance and service are perhaps the better aspects, the food, given that this is not a cheap place to eat in Inverness, I think is average overall and I have not been overwhelmed by it. Had given it a break for a few years after annoyance at the small portions that left me hungry, my return visit was OK but probably wont go back-we all know there is a a consistently better performing restaurant only a short walk away.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank balintoresmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

I went to the charity Cheltenham races event today at Cafe 1 with work colleagues. The food, service and atmosphere was fantastic and we all had a thoroughly enjoyable afternoon. We were very well looked after by Norman and his team and would highly recommend Cafe 1.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank nt1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 1 also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Cafe 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing