We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As always”

The Kitchen Brasserie
Ranked #17 of 251 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $49
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“As always”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Went for the early bird menu.

Great, my wife had sea trout which was fantastic. I had roast chicken that actually tasted like proper chicken, unusual nowadays.

This menu must be the best value food deal in the highlands, well done

Unfortunately, I only had a credit card and no cash for tip. Apologies, the service was great and I will make sure I leave my appreciation next time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stewart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    796
    473
    169
    86
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
addlestone
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“several meals here and no disapointments”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

had one of the best steaks I have ever enjoyed and the fall falle with prawns great. not forgetting the sea food chouder all at best prices I would like to come back soon.J Turner

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jet12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fine dining at a really good price”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We spent nearly a week with relatives in the Highlands. We had a family meal at the sister restaurant The Mustard Seed and loved it so the next day, when we were shopping in Inverness, we tried The Kitchen Brasserie and went back the next day for another lunch. In both restaurants, we could chose a starter and a main course for £6.95. (I can't understand a comment I read where they said it was not worth the money!!) The meals came with lovely vegetables. all the food was good Scottish fare but with fine dining sauces.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elsa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
240 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Delicious food beautifully presented in a very pleasant location”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

When in Inverness I usually recommend The Mustard Seed for dining. I am a registered tourist guide and take visitors around Scotland so I know many excellent restrurants. Unfortunately the Mustard Seed was fully booked but their 'sister' restaurant The Kitchen' located just across the other side of the River Ness is an excellent alternative. The atrmosphere is quite casual but the food is top quality and beautifully presented with a huge selection of freshly prepared dishes on the menu, something to suit everyone. The staff are attentive yet discreet. The restaurant is on different floors. There are tables on the ground floor and the window seats are good as you can watch the riverside of the River Ness. There is also a toilet downstairs for those with mobility difficulties.
Booking is necesary although you could take a chance and just arrive. Bon appetit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blackfaceewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Sit Upstairs!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed plates of fresh local ingredients while looking down on the beautiful River Ness. This place is popular with families including children, so if you don't want to dine with the wee ones, go somewhere else. There is an open kitchen where you can see the young chef whipping up the haggis, neeps and tatties. There are good deals on specials which include a glass of very decent house wine. A popular local spot -- ask your B&B to reserve a table for you.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NYEureka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kitchen Brasserie also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to The Kitchen Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing